Avis sur WhatsUp Gold

WhatsUp Gold

The network and application monitoring software

4.3/5 (46 avis)
Traduire avec Google Translate

wug 17&18 has an overall better interface that is responsive, a few minor fixes will make it aweso

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 18/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

The device cards are a nice addition; quickly access common features.
Creating dashboard is much easier now than in previous version; more flexible.
I like how things are now grouped together, e.g. accessing logs you don't have to go to 3-4 different locations.
Searching for devices is great!

Inconvénients

Device roles and discovery could use some work.
need to be able finding monitors in library is cumbersome, need a way to search or jump alphabetically
Device types were remove, new versions don't support changing OS type
Need a way to create dynamic HTTPS content monitor, meaning you could hit an address like so : http://%device.Hostname/NmConsole (hostname is not supported, only address)
HTTPS TCP monitors only support SSL TLS 1.0
I spend a lot of time hitting F5 to refresh the browser because the change I just made is not reflected.
you can drag and drop devices - need an easier way to manage groups.
Need a way to pin favorite groups in navigation pane.
When you are on device status page from my network you have to click back button 3-4 times to return to the my network page.
Would like to see more youtube videos on how to use the newer version; would be a great way to deliver user training.
I would like the ability to delete a device from the devices properties page.

Réponse de Ipswitch

Hi, Thanks so much for the kind words! We're delighted that you're enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you're using it. Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MmaOx9MsMEQ. If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Excellent product however lately they are advertising features that are not working

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 26/06/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

It provides us an overall health of the environment and provides great alerting tool.

Avantages

The interface is nice and customizable. Upgrading to new versions are very simple. The overall alert monitoring is great. They continue to add in new features to keep up with the overall demanding IT infrastructure. Working with their technical and product teams are great as they listen to your issues and/or suggestions and look to add new features by communicating to their customers on their sprints.

Inconvénients

As of late the Whats Up Gold Plus product is not delivering based on what has been communicated to their customers. I attended a conference where IPSwitch stated their WhatsUp Gold product supported Microsoft Azure, Dell Compellent Storage and Wireless APs. When we implemented the product it only supports a small piece of Azure that requires Servers and not WebApps/Sites. In addition, the Dell Compellent provides incorrect measurements which is now being looked at on their technical team because there are issues with their release. On the AP Support it is stating they cannot read into our Cisco Airnet APs which are very standard. This too is a feature request. I like the product but for the cost I would expect these types of features to work.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

I have had nothing but outstanding experience with IPswitch and it's staff.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 17/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Our Network and VM monitoring has improved by 200%

Avantages

First is its reliability. I have matched it against other products such as CACTI and more accurate in the numbers game. Also, its flexibility when it comes to even exporting and importing of databases to new versions of WUG. Another aspect I like is how there is always constant improvement with the product. The versions never stay static. Always moving forward. I have in recent made of suggestion and IPSwitch said they would investigate it and possibly have it in a beta release.

Inconvénients

This is a most difficult question to answer. If I had to come up with anything ... It is that they are under staffed. Every single employee on tech side, sales, marketing must be working 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Answers are always 100 percent correct but the same staff answers your questions. Those employee s need help. Hire !!!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

WhatsUpGold is a great tool for monitoring the status of your network.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 15/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We mainly benefit from the alerts system that will notify all specified employees via text/email whenever a part of our network goes down. Typically we will know something is down before our users even notice the problem.

Avantages

The alerts are where WhatsUpGold really shines. They are all fully customizable and once they're setup to your specifications they work like a dream. A majority of the time we will know when something on the network goes down before our users even notice the problem!

Inconvénients

This product can do so many different things it becomes a little overwhelming. Once alerts are setup they work great, but the configuration process can get pretty confusing if you haven't done it before. Online training videos on how to configure certain features would be a great tool.

Réponse de Ipswitch

Hi and thanks so much for the kind words! We¿re delighted that you¿re enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you¿re using it.

Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS2lCWFrs4paSSNpe1JnTnQ

If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community at commmunity.ipswitch.com for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Great for monitoring network equipment

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 03/04/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Provides great monitoring for network issues and machines connected to the network

Avantages

The ability to monitor critical machines and connections to observer performance, switching, and other issues. We use email alerts which reach the IT team via email which we can get at our desk or on our mobile phone cuts down on the response time to resolve any issues. The backup configurations and archiving in WhatsUp performs very well. the application is used for both Cisco routers and switches.

Inconvénients

Web interface functionality could be improved and will need to get additional training to fully utilize all the features available in What's Up for maximum usage.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

WhatsUp gold is a good bare bones monitoring tool. The UI and UX is probably one of the worst

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 09/04/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Provides basic reporting. What you see is sometimes what you get, but there could be so much more potential with the product.

Avantages

the product is not expensive. The ease of use has slightly improved. Upgrades and patches are no longer a problem like they were in the past.

Inconvénients

I don't trust the alerting
The UI and UX is terrible. The dashboards you can create are extremely limiting
There doesn't seem to be any built-in "hey you haven't been alerting on X,Y,Z, but you should because our other customers do and they see improved results"

The competition is leaps and bounds ahead, but so is their price point.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

5.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

We have been using Whats Up Gold for 17 years and love it!

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 06/04/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We live in a very mobile world! I can travel anywhere and get text messages whenever something fails! I am always the first to know when something is down!

Avantages

I have worked with many other platforms and the setup and configuration takes many weeks to perform. What's Up Gold can be set up in a day! It is extremely easy to work with. We monitor over 200 switches on our network. The notifications we get are very reliable!

Inconvénients

Loved look and feel of Version 16.5. We are staying on that for awhile. The newer versions are much different and I am not ready to change.... my problem.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

WUG is a good software that save me time and my company money.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 03/04/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Less downtime and a better vision into how my very large site is doing. It's too far to walk around checking things all the time.

Avantages

You can monitor nearly anything all at the same time. Anything from Database instances to a single SNMP trap can be monitored. Alerting works great and saves me the trouble of telling someone a room is overheating or power is out.

Inconvénients

Setup can be rather finicky and difficult to understand. Response time is also rather slow and can fool you into thinking it's not working.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Great product that monitors our devices

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 18/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

System awareness

Avantages

Know as soon as something goes down. Or when something is getting close to causing you headaches. Don't be in the dark or find out on a Friday night that your server crashed when you could easily avoid it with proper notifications.

Inconvénients

Interface is not intuitive and could use a redesign. Once you figure out it your ok but takes some googeling to find functionality.

Custom notifications windows could use a serious rework.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Been using WUG for 10+ years, great product!

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 18/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Ability to identify network traffic bottlenecks, down devices or down monitors of devices.

Avantages

Layer 2 maps of network with an easy to read & understand status are great. When analyzing network traffic, the ability to filter down to a specific devices' traffic has allowed me to identify networking issues on multiple occasions.

Inconvénients

Challenges working with web interface, sometimes there are issues with certain browsers not being able to perform certain functions.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

The interface is getting more cumbersome and tedious to navigate

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 15/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

General monitoring was great, but it's become more difficult to configure for the way we wanted to use it. Free tools now will do the same thing with the same amount of work.

Avantages

It was the ease of use, but that's going away. The ability to use a single service monitor to monitor multiple devices. Too bad thats going away.

Inconvénients

It's gotten cumbersome to use and now the monitors all need to be scripted vs a generic monitor you can use for multiple devices.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

5.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

It is a great product and moving in the right direction and moving backwards in other directions.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 15/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Being able to see when anything on campus is down, up or any issues on the device such as memory or disk utilization of a server.

Avantages

It has greatly improved the GUI interface of the product making it easier to see everything you need.

Inconvénients

They removed a lot of features with the new update that the old one had that made it great. THey need to bring back all the features that made it great and keep moving in a better faster direction.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

This is a great product

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 19/06/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Realtime monitoring tool

Avantages

It is a great visual dashboard to know the health of your network.
Easy of use for the simple task
Support team seems to getting better

Inconvénients

Lots of bugs in 2017 version, was like a beta version of 2018 version.
Not a lot of device type
Discovery is not always accurate about the brand, model, device type ,etc.
WiFi monitoring is not good
Not easy to use for advance monitoring

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Slowly getting better

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 15/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Discovery process is straightforward and easy. New gen UI took a lot of getting used to but is nice overall.

Inconvénients

Creating and assigning advanced/custom monitors is still not as intuitive as it should be. Missing several basic features such one-time scheduled maintenance. You have to manually put a device into maintenance mode and take it out or assign a recurring maintenance schedule.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

WhatsUp Gold is great to alert on all types of devices

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 15/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Benefit of proactively maintaining the full network

Avantages

It allows me to monitor all of the network remotely. I'm able to monitor switches, websites, computers, temperature, etc. I just need to only look at my email to be able to see down statuses of devices

Inconvénients

Taking the time to research how to configure monitoring takes up a lot of my time. Wish there were more instructional videos.

Réponse de Ipswitch

Hi and thanks so much for the kind words! We¿re delighted that you¿re enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you¿re using it.

Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS2lCWFrs4paSSNpe1JnTnQ

If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community at commmunity.ipswitch.com for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Great software for monitoring network devices. Easy to use interface that provides a great dashboard

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 18/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Email and dashboard provide a quick overview of your network devices at a glance. We utilize multiple dashboards to monitor network switches, interface statistics, server statistics, hard drive and memory usage, our virtual infrastructure, and even netflows.

Inconvénients

Adding a single device seems clunky - you can't just add a device by ip - must be done by network scans.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

We have been using WUG for over 6 years and it has been very beneficial in monitoring our systems.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 18/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

I like the new interface in WUG 2018, it is clean and modern. It is easy to add new devices to be monitored.

Inconvénients

A couple of years ago there was a major upgrade to the software that removed a lot of report functionality that we were using. Knowing this, I would have stayed on the old version of the software. It is also hard to contact support, they hide the phone number.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Limited functionality and features, software updates are unreliable.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 06/04/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We use it to monitor up/down status for 3000 devices.

Avantages

I am familiar with the interface. The price model is acceptable. .

Inconvénients

The product has limited functionality and is inflexible to use as a 24x7 monitoring tool. Software updates may fix some problems but often introduce more problems. Overall I am very disappointed with What's Up Gold.

Réponse de Ipswitch

Hi,

I'm sorry that WhatsUp Gold hasn't lived up to your expectations. Our records show that your team had issues with an upgrade. I wanted to let you know that I've reached out to your Ipswitch Account Rep, Shane Lusby, and he will be in touch immediately to make sure we can address any issues that you continue to have.

Regards,
Alex.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

1.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

We've been using WUG for a decade and although it has its issues, it overall is good.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 03/04/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

stable monitoring system for our production and dev/qa environments.

Avantages

The web interface has been significantly improved with the previous version of WUG. It is much faster and more intuitive. Product is a good value for the money.

Inconvénients

the major upgrades are released with a lot of issues and we've had to roll back to a previous version more than once

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

For Monitoring my environment, I like knowing What's Up

Publié le 17/09/2015
Provenance de l'avis

When you have a lot of servers and a lot of websites and your college administrators are demanding that they be up 95% of the time or better, you need a good monitoring tool. What's Up Gold is the best tool I've found out there, bar none.

Avantages

It is completely customizable. Even the landing page can be customized to display your environment in the way that you want to see it. Alerts can be taken from the library and/or customized for your needs. A graphic display of your environment with color-coded conditions is useful for a quick visual look at your environment, and I have it running on one of my system monitors all the time. Email alerts, text messages - all customizable.

Inconvénients

Like any large-scale program, it can be difficult to learn and I recommend attending training to get the most out of the product, which is an additional cost. And the product isn't cheap to begin with. Just looking at the initial screens can be very intimidating.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

The complete visibility of physical and virtual infrastructure

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 1 à 5 mois
Publié le 08/03/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Basically No agent installation required. Visually appealing dashboards with good data presentation. Additional functionality available through the installation.
Customization can be done according to our requirement and the Application Provides a wealth of information and great dashboard with drill-down competence.
Easy to implement and we can connect to all wan sites in a seconds matters. Alarm color can change for easy recognize and Mapping, Dashboards, Monitors, Actions, NTA, APM and CM
Latest version is reliable

Inconvénients

No support for Microsoft Hyper-V. Everything must be installed on-premises. No monitoring of any cloud services.
it has 8 Alternatives to Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold(PRTG,NetFlow Traffic Analyzer,Intermapper,ManageEngine OpManager,NetCrunch,SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor and etc)

Réponse de Ipswitch

Thanks for the 5 Star review! Just an update that a few releases ago we added support for Hyper-V and now support the full APIs for and monitor performance and availability of AWS and Azure deployments as well.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Critical tool for monitoring our infrastructure

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 03/10/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We have complete visibility of our physical and virtual infrastructure,

Avantages

Highly customizable
Provides a wealth of information
Great dashboard with drilldown capability
Version 16 is rock solid reliable

Inconvénients

Version 17 is a hot mess. I upgraded from version 16 to 17 and ended up rolling back because there were so many missing features

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

6.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Web interface needs a lot of work. Back-end works wonderfully.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 19/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

When services fail, or if a machine crashes, we're notified quickly

Avantages

Quick and easy scan/interface loads. Makes life easy when you're trying to maintain 500+ virtual machines.

Inconvénients

The web interface is pure garbage. It needs a LOT of work; especially since everything is now required for using the software

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

WUG is a great monitoring and alerting application

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 18/07/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

An ability to submit feedback directly to the vendor

Avantages

WUG is very versatile with support for many vendor hardware and software products, with multiple alerting and reporting triggers.

Inconvénients

WUG is limited with regard to netflow and syslogging - it doesn't appear to scale very well in these areas.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Easy to manage lan, wan, and ip address of any network inside and outside of the metropolitan area.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 17/05/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Easy to implement with lots of details added, can connect to all wan sites in a seconds matters. Alarm color can change for easy rrecognize.

Inconvénients

Need to have more added feature like tree or subtree details so if i click on it, it will give more details in a subtree info.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client