Avis clients sur GitHub

GitHub

Plateforme de développement collaboratif et de codage en réseau

4.8/5 (2062 avis)
Si M.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Convenience just a pull away: GitHub, a game-changing tool for developers

Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 18/06/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Overall, learning Git and GitHub made life as a developer convenient. We transitioned from manually merging our code to using GitHub. Although it required some practice, it was well worth the time. We realized that we were missing out and how our older projects would have been a breeze if we learned about GitHub sooner.

Avantages

Knowing git and GitHub boosted the productivity of my team members and I. We were able to cutback on the times we were doing manual version control work rather than actual software development. It has been very useful to the point that it has been integrated into our project work pipeline. It has been very reliable and our team has never encountered problems in uploading and retrieving the code of others. We are able to document any changes to our code and fix conflicting code which made working in a team much more convenient.

Our team of 3 uses the free version which allows us to collaborate with each other, set up a public or private repository, document our bugs, and manage our workflow which already is a lot for a free service. Paid options allow for collaboration of bigger teams, analytics, and other advanced features.

Aside from that, a GUI version of the application allows you to visually see the changes in the project and simplifies the workflow. Tutorials and documentations on how to use GitHub, for both the GUI and command line versions are available. Most source code editors now even have GitHub integrated and allows you to do the commands without leaving the editor.

Inconvénients

As great as GitHub is, it really takes some time in getting used to, especially for beginners. It has a steep learning curve and you are most likely going to have to use a search engine for the tasks you want to do. GitHub also has an application with a GUI which is relatively beginner friendly, but even then, the Git workflow is really something that requires practice. I personally use the Command Line Interface and the difficult part is knowing the commands to use in which I solved by printing out a cheat sheet.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

The one and only open source hub for developers to upskill, learn and contribute to community

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 13/04/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

A must for all developers and interns who wish to make a great future in the field of technology. Outstanding and simply splendid experience!

Avantages

The overall platform is really vast and well designed for developers in the software fields (IT/CS) willing to contribute in terms of open source to the entire technology communities.
It is really easy to upload our code or related development work, files and projects on to the GitHub platform using version control systems like GIT integrated in the respective IDE's or from the terminal.
Using this platform has given me great exposure to others on the same platform as it makes my code public where others can watch, vote and contribute on the same project. Apart from this, we can either have projects marked as private or public based on the type of repository we wish to choose.
Being online, we do not need to save backups or worry about loss of projects and code changes as all this is managed through the version controls and commits done via pull requests.
Overall, this is the one and only best place for managing code, getting others to contribute on similar lines and more.
Users can not only write scripts to push their code, but they also provide a GUI that is useful to upload their code on to the GitHub platform. Approvals from developers and self is managed pretty easily.

Inconvénients

Literally, haven't noticed much cons as this is the top-most platform on my list for the benefits it provides and reduces the overall complexities of managing projects and stuff.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Sébastien L.
Traduire avec Google Translate

A Secure, Reputable and Scalable Solution for All Your Developer's Needs

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 14/04/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Because GitHub is a reputable service used by millions of developers, it serves as a great tool to show off your skills to potential employers. I personally got the privilege of getting access to more work opportunities as my experience using the service was taken into account when working remotely with a team. Being uselessly paranoid about potentially losing my files and projects, I feel reassured knowing that my code is being hosted on GitHub while being seamlessly synchronized on a third-party storage service, allowing for a painless retrieval of anything of importance in the worst case scenario. It also serves as a useful backup in case the code base gets messed up locally: it suffices to delete everything and start from scratch by pulling all the data from GitHub. The reverse is also true: if for some reasons a project has diverged too much from local changes being made, it is very simple to rewrite the history of a project by reusing only local references and discarding anything on the other side. Since Git isn't particularly easy to approach for beginners, having all those safeguards and the ability to undo most actions brings peace of mind to the user.

Avantages

Since GitHub relies on Git underneath, one can be assured that it uses a strong, open source system behind the scenes. It integrates so well with the command-line that it's the main way I interact with GitHub on a daily basis. All essential actions you may need to perform are also available in the graphical interface on GitHub, making for a convenient experience when on the move as all necessary tools can be accessed either way. It offers security features such as the ability to link SSH and GPG keys, allowing users to verify their commits and secure their identity. The two-factor authentication system is also impressively well thought-out, having various recovery options including security keys, SMS number, recovery tokens, recovery codes and even fallback SMS number. If you often write the same content in form of comments, there is even a feature to have "saved replies", speeding up the interaction process for recurring matters. GitHub is also extremely accessible, offering unlimited private repositories for personal use. Even open source organizations can benefit tremendously without having to spend a dime as it includes by default everything one can need. GitHub is also perfect for students, giving you access to pro features and discounts through their "Student Developer Pack". GitHub Pages is another fantastic aspect of the platform, allowing you to host a website without any hassle, with really quick build time while also ranking very high on search engines.

Inconvénients

Even though all members in a specific organization on GitHub may prove they are all verified students, there is still the need for the educational institution to set up a few steps on their own to approve changes being made, which slows down considerably the initial setup. The search options, although they are powerful, aren't very intuitive and many useful functions are well hidden in the documentation pages. As a regular user, there is no option to freely start collaborating in private repositories before scaling up, which is a feature that's often available on other similar platforms. On that note, the price tag for GitHub is relatively high for the added benefits compared to other solutions. There is a restriction on file size, which cannot exceed 100 Mb. In most instances, this is not an inconvenient, but it will not be an appropriate platform to handle sharing large files when rendering 3D models for example.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Chamath N.
Traduire avec Google Translate

GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 27/12/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

The ability that is seen on the GitHub and once the account was created for our project it was all fun for the team members. The future of the big and small projects now point directly to the new development on GitHub. From one point of control, you can supervise the progress and changes made by the team members. It has a friendly cost of operation and can be implemented at any stage of the project.

Avantages

My first interaction with GitHub has never been changed and made different following the impact it had on my project. The fact that I was leading a big team that needed to share and update file frequently, GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us. When asked to use the software for any project any time, I would settle for this with confidence following the following facts

I went against the norm to compare the ability of the software and here are some of the reasons it remained on top for me.

-Very easy to get started use.
-Compatible with many other devices that are needed.
-Can be shared in a team simultaneously seamlessly.
-Organizes the work depending on the latest changes.
-Offers central view of the project leading to easy supervision.
-Requires simple device to host and integrates perfectly with the internet.
-Has a great collection library to edit your work.
-Offers pocket-friendly cost to all users.

Inconvénients

Not all our needs were met with ease following the great expectation that we had. Here are some points to have in mind even after the great ability has been demonstrated.

-It works with predefined command.
-Requires strict monitoring as changes can be compromised to interfere with the meaning.
-Fast and stable internet is a must have for success.
-You need technical know-how to manipulate and make changes on the platform.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Ashish A.
Traduire avec Google Translate

best ever git repository hosting service provider

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 14/01/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Github is very easy to use git hosting provider server. Github allows easy contributions of code between our project members. Github provides a way to review code before it is merged into master branch. It provides nice interface to view all commit history and allows to easily compare two different commits. Github provide fast searching across all files. I recommend git hub to all developers who are looking for an simple and easy to use source code management and git version control hosting server. GitHub has some of the best documentation around. Github makes easy to contributions to projects within small and large teams.

Avantages

GitHub is most popular git version control repository server. Github provides collaboration features such as project read me, wikis, issue tracking, pull requests, commit history, access control to various collaborators. It provides all features of GIt as well as adding its own features. Github provides a feature to compare two branches or two commits called pull request. A code reviewer can review and provide his commits on this. GIthub provides private repository for personal projects. We are using github in our each and every project as source code management.

Inconvénients

If someone is new to GitHub, one of the challenges is getting to grips with the github model, which requires practice and time. It costs to have a versioning repository on GitHub. Github GUI a little confusing to use and it is easy to use its CLI instead. Private repositories are chargeable. Bitbucket comes with Jira integration that is still missing in Github

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Essential for any sort of academia or software work

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 21/12/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

If you are doing anything in academia, even if you are a student, or anything related to software engineering you want to use Git. Note that there is a difference between Git and GitHub - Github is where your data is stored.
GitHub is also the biggest (to my knowledge) hosting service for Git so most likely it will be your first contact if you work with Git. Fortunately, it's also very good. The interface is easy to use (of GitHub, NOT Git) and as far as I can tell it has no downtimes. I have never needed the support so I can not rate that, but that is just a further indicator for the quality of GitHub, everything is either obvious from the get-go or well documented.
Even if you are just writing homework assignments, it's a good idea to back up your work using Git. If you are in the field of software engineering or doing "recreational programming" you might already be familiar with Git. In either case, using GitHub to host your Git projects is an excellent choice.

Inconvénients

Every time I want to add a local, existing project to GitHub I have to Google how to do so. This is not so much GitHub's fault as Git's but there is a guide how to do this hosted on GitHub. However I can never remember where it is on the GitHub page without using Google, so that could certainly be improved. Once the project is hosted on GitHub however there are no issues from my side.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Moses K.
Traduire avec Google Translate

It changed the way we code and back up systems in my place of work

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 20/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Being able to obtain and run entire working projects without even having to learn how git works
Being able to backup and restore projects with very simple terminal commands puts me and the rest of the team at ease
I have yet to see the site experiencing downtime meaning that I have never had any work delayed because GitHub was unavailable

Avantages

I use GitHub mainly for research purposes and the huge availability of code has really supercharged my IT career. There are countless times when GitHub repositories came to the rescue when I was tasked with a coding problem what was technically beyond me. Their internal search engine is world class; you never have to use special search tricks to get what you are looking for. I also love the way they list the repositories; you are able to tell what a specific repository contains without clicking individual results.
The download option was also very convenient and useful when I didn't know how to use git; It was easy to download an import a project without having to spend hours and hours poring through tutorials.

Inconvénients

I secretly with that It is possible to compile and run code snippets without having to download them into my computer.
Another thing that i don't like is having to open individual class files in new tabs; it would be better if there was a panel on the side that allowed you to select and click through to individual classes/files, sort of how modern IDEs work

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

The best way to interact with Git

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 30/07/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Wonderful source control that allows us to code without worrying about things that have changed and caused problems. Easy to go back in your commit history and branch off to fix issues.

Avantages

Personal Use: Whenever I want to spin up either an open source project or a home grown personal project I send it up to Github. I don't think there is another brand that has as strong a presence as Github. The amount of vendors that integrate with Github is one of the main reasons I am in Github. Pull requests are easy and the ability to do a code review is key.

Professional Use: Our team previously had all of our products in Github in Private repos which worked out great for quite some time. We have recently moved to VSTS but only because of the demands of our stack. It was easy to use and very cheap for our team. I can't think of a more affordable solution.

Overall Github has been a cheap easy solution for version controller of personal, open source, and corporate projects.

Inconvénients

Getting used to interacting with Github through the command line can be a bit daunting. With our tools we had we were interacting via a GUI but would occasionally have to step into the command line to get some special operations done.

They could also have a better workflow for things like Kanban boards but now that Microsoft has purchased them we may see them move in that direction.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Steve G.
Traduire avec Google Translate

The best tool for collaborating on code

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 07/11/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Github has improved the quality of both my team's code and knowledge of our system and programming in general. Its tools for facilitating code reviews allow my team to share knowledge about our stack and domain while also providing opportunities to vet and improve the code we ship.

Avantages

From commenting discussions on individual lines of code, to explicitly requesting code reviews from particular teammates, to integrations with various continuous-integration (CI) and deployment systems, Github is a fully-featured tool for vetting and tracking changes to your codebase. From the moment you push code up, Github can help your team usher changes through code reviews and approval processes, with all the details and history you would expect from a system built on Git. And with a powerful API and webhooks, Github has a wealth of extension points for building integrations to customize your workflow.

Inconvénients

I'd like more granular control over which email notifications I get (specifically the ability to be notified of new comments on a pull request without also being notified of every additional commit). And while the Reviews feature which batches comments into an all-at-once "review" is central to my team's workflow, the inability to leave immediate, one-off comments in the middle of a review is sometimes limiting. Still, these are minor inconveniences in an otherwise powerful and flexible tool.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

The best way to collaborate on code

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 26/03/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

GitHub offers to host projects that rely on the Git version control system. While mainly aimed at developers, it works very well for any text-based work.
GitHub offers free hosting for all open source repositories (i.e. your code will be visible to the public). The website is extremely easy to use, and has a beautiful, clean interface.

When working in teams, the concept of pull request comes in very handy: one developer can "branch off" the main version of the project to work on a new feature. Once the feature is ready, the developper proposes a "pull request", to re-integrate the new feature into the main branch. Contributors to the project can review the code, giving precise feedback on the new feature.
I have used this workflow with great success in the context of small teams.

Finally, GitHub scores major points in the academic sector by providing Student and Institution accounts with unlimited private repositories, for free ("Student Pack").

Inconvénients

Outside of the free student accounts, the GitHub subscription could be slightly pricy, especially for a small developer.

As we come to rely more and more on GitHub to host code, any downtime becomes very critical. In the past few years, there were a couple of instances of GitHub downtime which affected my productivity.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Best Code Repository Host

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 22/05/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

My overall expererience is pleasant and satisfying. I have no issues with Github and always liked it. Since almost a year ago they made it so you could have unlimited free private repo's, it's been amazing.

Avantages

Github is amazing. I used to utilize Bitbucket a lot but Github was more robust and before the free tier for both was kind of equal. Now Github free offers unlimited private and public repo's where bitbucket only offers like 5. Github also seems to be a lot faster when dealing with branches and commits. Like the connection feels snappier. I can say the same for the website. Now where Bitbucket, the website used to be fast but ever so since the re-design it's a little more on the heavy side. I honestly like Github and I've moved all my code there to be hosted, since it's super secure and super reliable. For as long as I have used it (around 4 years now) I haven't had issues with accessing or uploading my code changes.

Inconvénients

Please, link issue tracking with branches so you can see the branches that you made or the commits that you made for specific issues. Bitbucket/JIRA has this and is a god send for project management

Also integrate it with the boards, for instance, a linked issue when closed, it can auto-merge the branch. JIRA/Bitbucket also has this.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Kevin M.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Modestly Experienced

Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 05/03/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

The main benefit would be version control. Version Control also means that your project has also been backed up online for easy recover in case of onsite accidents. Their service works with a large number of third party software applications and services allowing you to add version control and deployment options to them.

Avantages

Github is by far one of the best services for managing development projects.

Our company's primary use of Github is for project version control but Github also has a few extra features that makes our lives easier. Our company utilizes freelance programmers from working in different regions and Github makes it easy for each of us to work individually on a project without fear of overwriting or delete work that has been done. It also works well with Azure making deployment an automated affair. Once we commit to the master project the changes are updated instantly on our Azure web-server. It is also very easy to edit your code online via their website. Their windows desktop software makes working in Git easy and their GUI removes the need to work in command prompt. This ensures that even a new developer can work with version control. I am very happy with their product and services.

Inconvénients

Github from time to time will still require you to have some knowledge of Git. You will have execute some commands via the command prompt or terminal. The online editor does make things a bit easier but getting the right versions to affect the master can still be tricky for a new comer. Keeping track of branches can become an issue but this is more a issue working with Git than their service. In the end you will have to take some time to learn Git and how it works.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Github for personal and enterprise use

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 02/05/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Avantages

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely.
I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Inconvénients

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

A Great Source Code Collaboration Platform

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 10/03/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

My overall experience with Github is very satisfactory. I have been using Github from last 4 years and using it to the max potential. I applied for Student Education Pack and it helped me with the free package which helped me in my learning. Now, I can help Open Source Communities and and also publish my code for others to contribute to and also to improve upon. Some things can be improved but the overall experience is great.

Avantages

Github is an easy to learn and easy to use development platform. It provides a platform to collaborate on other's code and also open our code for collaboration from others, thus helping us making our code/app better. Also, project management is built right into the ui of Github, all the code issues and projects are there right next to projects. Also, Open Source community is largely helped by Github, which lets developers discover new projects and use these new projects as dependencies in their next projects. Thus, helping the developers community to grow. Also, Github offers a great Education plan helping students learn things without the burden of subscriptions.

Inconvénients

Ability to collaborate on private repositories. Only 3 collaborators are allowed in free private repositories (Microsoft made it free just months ago). Pull request UI can be improved to provide more information.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Saiichi H.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Handle your code well, in essentially every context

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 20/06/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Most simply, hosting code and using it in various Continuous Integration contexts.

Avantages

Github does most everything I want a git repository to do and does it well. Hosts code, allows (and facilitates) collaboration, has integrations that truly add value, has issues/pull requests that make sense, hosts static webpages with little effort, and so much more. Whether you're coding for yourself, within a large company, or involved in open source projects, Github deals with all of your concerns incredibly well (trust me, I've used it for all three use cases). There hasn't been a case where Github has blocked me from doing anything I need it to do, which is much more than I can say for other software. For something as simple as hosting code, Github has managed to do a whole lot more while still keeping it all focused on one thing: writing code.

Inconvénients

The labelling system in Github issues isn't the best. With how incredibly freeform it is, every repository has their own complex system of labels. Projects is a decent feature, but making sense of all the issues a repository has (sometimes hundreds) is just overwhelming. It ends up just being an enormous list to parse and can be stressful to manage or just to search through.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Joseric M.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Social Programming that works!

Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 17/07/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Software enthusiasts rejoice! Say hello to collaborative software programming and goodbye to unsaved work... GitHub helped me to work with more productivity and focused work, not worrying about losing code or keeping up-to-date with my colleagues.

Avantages

I am new to this paradigm of being able to "commit" one's code and have versioning you can go back to in time... plus the fact that you can actually work collaboratively on the same project... This is really a wonderful tool for software developers and enthusiasts.

The free basic version has enough features to allow you to create a project and experience its wonders for you to decide if you'd get premium.

Sharing code, forking one's own version... this works at the heart of my personal Open Source projects and initiatives.

The interface if pretty easy to get familiarised with. It is intuitive enough, and easy to master.

It also comes easy with third-party app integrations. I use Atom for my software development projects.. and it has easy integration with it.

Documentation is a breeze as well. It makes it too easy and collaborative, which makes documenting one's projects... fun. This is something that you'd rarely hear from a software geek! (We hate documenting our work! hahaha).

Try this! You'll never go back to saving your code as: code_v1... code_v2... and just commit to Git!

Inconvénients

Well.. nothing really. Maybe just a little concerned about the steep cost of having private repositories for non-pros like me... I mainly use it for personal, non-pro work. But so far, the freemium works for me.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Samridh S.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Everyone is using it Get on It

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
Publié le 05/04/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Overall it is the perfect code and source code repository for a git platform. Since I use it under the company, I have access to all the paid version access. I love the terminal commands to perform my day to day tasks and creating backup for projects and code is so much easier and most importantly the tracking history is a no brainer go to place for everything.

Avantages

As a company we have now completely migrated over to Github from prior platforms such as Visual Studio and Sourcesafe. Github has been the game changer in the software and firmware side for our company and I can confidently say I love it way more than any other thing I have used in the past. It is so much easier to push the code, manage it, have multiple collaboraters and do proper version control. I can see changes from other collaborators and comments added as well much easily and it is a very much useful place when we have multiple software and firmware engineers working on different parts of the code and performing development. Github has a large resourc, really strong search engine and if you are using Git Github would be the platform for you.

Inconvénients

It is not as obvious to use and there is a learning curve at the beginning but I would counter it with every platform would have some sort of learning curve. One has to learn the commands and their model to integrate and make the best use of their system. The file structure and repositories can get confusing at least for me when initially just starting to use it. Basically one has to know what to do it Github and lot of googling on how to's helps a lot.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Github continually improves its features

Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 10/01/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Overall as a team, we have used GitHub to host the git repository. This has ensured secure collaboration, provided clear history about users’ activities and debugging made a lot easier. The ability to work on numerous features at once has proved to be valuable for every user in the team. The only annoying thing has been the overwhelming notifications that are not customizable.

Avantages

High compatibility. Github is compatibility with most of the cloud hosting services. Flexibility, Various systems and apps can be integrated into Github through Robust API, i.e. desktop and mobile integration. Provide users with an extensive library collection for editing codes. Github continually improves its features and has the best documentation that you will never run out of content. You can access collaboration and control features like bug trafficking, wikis for projects and task management features. With Github, you will meet thousands of developers and share your experience as the platform allow users to share their code and any other information. Finally, Github offers backup for your code. As a programmer backing up your code is the most critical thing and GitHub gives the user a chance to have their backup online and access it anytime.

Inconvénients

It has a strict command line application that requires technical knowledge to manipulate the platform. Notifications can sometimes be overwhelming and are never grouped in a customizable manner. For users who only work on their side projects, the pricing is a little bit high. Github Repository can only be used by Premium members. File size restriction. The repository can only host up to 1GB data while the file size is limited to 100mb. For success and better experience, you must have stable and fast internet.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

The Premier Git Experience

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 30/01/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

I have been using GitHub throughout my university career and have found it to be a much more pleasurable experience compared to other version control software and other Git clients like Gitlab. GitHub has a more sleek design and is easier to use. It also offers more features and its social media features are awesome. It's great being able to see what friends and colleagues are up to and being able to contribute to open source projects with ease.

Avantages

-Unlimited public repositories
-Searching is extremely well implemented
-Main host of open source software
-Branch management and easy merge process
-Easy to track code changes via commit messages
-Highlights changes made to your code in comparison to previous commit
-Desktop client has made it even easier to use
-Social media like aspects are great and allows you to stay up to date with friends and colleagues projects
-Built in issue tracker allows bugs to be fixed and features to be implemented in a timely matter

Inconvénients

-Learning curve for non programmers committing to repo
-Specific set of instructions to follow and can lead to merge conflicts if not followed properly
-Depends on contributors and if not maintained may fall apart
-No way to view differences between branches
-Lack of project management features

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Peter W.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Excellent Git repository hosting

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 15/11/2017
Provenance de l'avis

Avantages

Easily share your code with team members, for QA'ing and bug fixing purposes.
Integration with various Git clients allows users to have full control over what goes in and out of GitHub.
Various built-in quality control features, making sure all work is up to an adequate standard. Pull requests force team members to double check any work submitted, and the 'Markdown' system that runs alongside that allows for total customisation of our documentation.
The user management system is also very useful, as it lets the team know who made what changes and when.
The in-built version control also ensures our code is backed-up and can be reverted if need be.

Inconvénients

The user interface can be confusing for a newcomer, and the amount of options and features available can be overwhelming.
Once you have filled a repository with a lot of code, the whole thing can seem a bit daunting. As it just looks like one large wall of text.
Setting up GitHub to work with some Git clients can be a bit of a pain, but it all depends on which client you go with.
GitHub's own markdown code differs from the usual markdown code, so there can be some strange bugs you might not be used to.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

The best tool to manage the versions of your projects.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 14/12/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

I use Github to collaborate in different projects within the company, as well as manage the versions of personal projects allowing me to work as a team with other people in addition to serving as backup of the work done, so it is possible to return to previous versions in case of failure or problems, as well as carrying out projects with the same structure but adapted to different requirements.

Avantages

In general I love everything about this tool because it offers multiple features and options such as configuring the visualization of your repository, allowing it to be public, that is, visible to all, or private so that only the work team has access, which is very important to maintain the confidentiality of the projects.

In the same way, navigation through the code including those complexes, is very fluid and simple with options that allow you to consult the changes made in it, including the data of the person who made them, the time, date and other information of interest.

It is an excellent tool that supports and facilitates collaborative work among the members of a team.

Inconvénients

What I like least is that even though it is a powerful and complete tool in terms of functionality, it is a bit difficult to learn to use it, at least initially.
Similarly, there are no free private repositories, which would be ideal at least a limited free version so that users can test its operation.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Bryan M.
Traduire avec Google Translate

The standard for code collaboration

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 26/02/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Let's us store our git repositories in the cloud, and collaborate with developers easily. Reduces time in getting new developers integrated in our workflow.

Avantages

Github is the easiest way to collaborate with other developers and store code. Years ago we used subversion and even tried other cloud options. Aside from git being a better solution for us, we used to have to spend much more time getting outside developers integrated in our version control systems. Today everyone has a Github account and knows how it works. Adding in an outside developer is as simple as adding their email as a collaborator to your repository.

Combined with its social features for open source contributions, at this point it seems crazy think of using a different solution. Pricing is very reasonable, and is now cheaper than what we paid for other VCS services in the past.

Inconvénients

It's really difficult for me to think of something that I have a problem with here. I would say that I wish there was an official mobile app for reviewing commits on the go a bit easier. I would also like if built in analytics were improved. That said, even if these things never changed, I can't see myself leaving Github.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Ben M.
Traduire avec Google Translate

The best place to host and version code of any kind.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 28/08/2017
Provenance de l'avis

GitHub is an incredible service for hosting any kind of code of versionable content. It's extremely affordable, even for an individual who wants to host a huge number of private repositories. It integrates with just about everything that you could want, to the point where you can even use GitHub's integration list as a portal to finding other great services you can use online.

Avantages

It's nearly a perfect place to host code. Most things happen almost instantly on the platform, and there's a good chance every developer you know is a member of the site. Careers can be built from having an impressive GitHub profile.

Inconvénients

There are very few cons to GitHub anymore. The platform continuously gets better and doesn't sacrifice anything in the process. If I had to give one complaint, it's that the structure of organizations can be a little bit weird, especially when it's used for things other than team members (such as giving a lot of crowd-funding backers access to a private repository). The activity stream on my dashboard is mostly useless in my experience, though that's likely not the case for everyone.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Benjamín D.
Traduire avec Google Translate

One of the best code repositories with git very social and colaborative

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 11/07/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

It's a git repository whre you can store your code public (for free) or privately (paid). You can browse repositories from other people, it's very easy to navigate in the code and has a syntax highlight for almos every programming language.
If you see a interesting project you can link into your project as a library or if you want to contribute or create a personalization you can fork and create a "copy" of the original repository to start editing and change things you need, all of this is really easy to do.
You can see all the forks of a project and see what's the people doing and merge some functionality made for other people if you want. So it's very collaborative.
It has lot's of functionality like documentation webpages for your project, bug reporting and issue tracking, version control for releases, and all the thing included in git can be managed more visual (branches, tags, pull requests, etc)

Inconvénients

It's really nice online service, the only thing I would like to improve is the code finder, that sometimes doesn't search all the results for a word or a symbol in the repository and you need to look by hand.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Sanchita A.
Traduire avec Google Translate

A social platform for workspace.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 31/03/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

The journey from git to GitHub is really amazing. The enhanced user interface make the things simple the web based interface provide you freedom to connect it from remote location. The GitHub market place is a amazing place to find your best API as per your need with GitHub verifications. Team discussion help in interacting with in the team.

Avantages

GitHub provides the platform where each team of different responsibilities work together in very interesting way. The process of reviewing the code is simplified with help of enhanced user friendly interface where a reviewer can comment and suggest the enhancement in same platform and help to deliver the better code. Diffs feature helps in comparing the two changes side-by-side and browser the commits history. The blame view provides a short hand to get the idea of code change over the time without going through the complete history one by one.

Inconvénients

GitHub helps in resolving the conflicts but the manual process make it vulnerable at the time of merge which can lead to a late release. Documentation of code can be written in GitHub page and Wikis which should be more enhanced. The code search engine should be added with the features like google advanced search engine.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10