GitHub

4,8 (4 800)
Plateforme de développement collaboratif et de codage en réseau

Note globale

4,8 /5
(4 800)
Rapport qualité-prix
4,6/5
Fonctionnalités
4,7/5
Simplicité d'utilisation
4,4/5
Support client
4,4/5

98%
des utilisateurs recommandent cette application
Classer par

4800 avis

Jean baptiste M.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 11-50 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Un outil indispensable

Publié le 09/03/2022

Avantages

J'utilise Github depuis plusieurs années pour gérer mes projets persos et professionnels.

Inconvénients

Je n'ai rien trouvé de négatif jusqu'à présent.

Mahefa mahenina R.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise : Auto-entrepreneur
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Mon retour sur GitHub

Publié le 21/02/2022

Je suis satisfait, quand le l'utilise je sens moins de stress et plus de confiance en moi, car je peux travailler sans m'inquiéter de ce qui pourrait arriver à mes taches.

Avantages

C'est un outil facile à utiliser. Il vous permet de vous accompagner sur ce que vous faites. Il vous permet de faire des suivis personnalisés.

Inconvénients

Personnellement, je trouve un petit ressemblance à un autre logiciel que j'ai utilisé dans le passé.

Killian S.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Marketing et publicité
  • Taille de l'entreprise : Auto-entrepreneur
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Un outil indispensable pour le développement

Publié le 19/03/2022

Avantages

Github est un super gestionnaire de projets. Il permet de faciliter la communication avec les développeurs et de déployer plus rapidement des projets ou mises à jour.

Inconvénients

Son utilisation est parfois un peu complexe.

Ismaila N.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Formation professionnelle et coaching
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 201-500 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

le meilleur logiciel pour nous les developpeurs

Publié le 06/05/2022

Avantages

c'est facile et très flexible, J'utilise Github depuis plusieurs années pour gérer mes projets persos et professionnels.

Inconvénients

je n'ai pas connaissance je le trouve très utiles

Ansh R.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 51-200 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Easily Track And Report Bugs, Monitor Project Progress

Publié le 21/05/2022

GitHub's powerful set of tools help developers track and fix bugs in their code, manage projects with ease, and automate their workflow. With GitHub, teams can comment on code, discuss issues, and review changes before they're merged into the main codebase. And with GitHub's integration with popular third-party tools like Jira and Slack, developers can get even more out of workflow.

Avantages

GitHub is a great tool for programmers because it has a lot of features that are useful for programming. GitHub can be used for bug reporting, bug monitoring, and management. Additionally, GitHub can be used for integration and automation. Additionally, GitHub provides team reports and comments functionality. Finally, GitHub is also great because it is constantly improving its functionality. It offers a complete suite of tools to help your team manage bugs, integrate with your existing workflows, and automate repetitive tasks.

Inconvénients

GitHub is the leading platform for software development and collaboration. GitHub is the place where developers come to share code, work together on projects, and build amazing software.

Santosh B.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Automobile
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 10 000+ employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Excellent Developer Tool - GitHub

Publié le 13/05/2022

- The overall experience with GitHub is excellent and very satisfactory. The tool has many good features provided OOB for many customers to get go from the initial setup itself.

Avantages

- The most important feature that we use at a very critical phase is the version control, creating pull requests for the developers to review the code base continuously, for continuous integration and continuous deployments for merging code and deploying code to production
- The tool is very easy to use and navigate without any prior experience
- The tool has very good support team to resolve any issues in the process
- The tool is very widely used by enterprise companies in the market to manage the code base

Inconvénients

- The pricing could be more reasonable as compared to the other tools in the market
- The UI can be more intuitive for the users to work with
- The tool can include more features in the tool that could be used by many customers instead of building custom API's and having issues in the workflows.

Alternatives envisagées 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

- The pricing was less when compared to the other tool we choose. It did not had other integrations we are looking for.
Ngozi P.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Production alimentaire
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 51-200 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 8.0 /10

A Review of Github

Publié le 12/05/2022

Expert

Avantages

I like that github helps for easy collaboration across several teams and also help in version control.Github also have more integration and support compared to other product.

Inconvénients

I haven't seen anything I don't like about Github yet

Tsitsi hazel S.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 11-50 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

GitHub Collaboration Review

Publié le 04/04/2022

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Avantages

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review.

Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another.

Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world.

GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Inconvénients

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Alternatives envisagées 

Slack

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.
Dakota M.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Simple, easy, and reliable.

Publié le 31/05/2022

Our overall experience with GitHub has been amazing we needed a easy and free source control solution and GitHub was that. It has grown with us as our needs have expanded to incorporate a CI/CD pipeline. GitHub has handled every challenge we've had a long the way.

Avantages

GitHub required almost no changes to our dev environments to integrate it. We develop mobile applications for android, so most of the functionality for GitHub was already easily accessible to us within our ide. For web development, we used GitHub Desktop which made viewing changes and pushing commits incredibly simple.

Inconvénients

Since GitHub is built to use git commands, some functionality can be impossible to use without knowing the command line. This isn't a massive issue since most commands have already been documented well online, but you will most likely have at least a few uncomfortable command line interactions especially when trying to rollback changes.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitLab

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

Familiarity and name drew us to GitHub. The features provided made us stay.
Abhirup B.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 5 001-10 000 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 8.0 /10

Best solution for hosting source codes for personal and private projects

Publié le 08/05/2022

My overall experience with the product is excellent. The software is easy to use and sufficient for the average user. Though, there are a few shortcomings in monitoring usage effectively.

Avantages

GitHub is straightforward to use. Where you can start using the tool within 15 mins, it works well with Git bash and has many 3rd party tools supporting it. The best part about GitHub is that private accounts are free of charge. GitHub is also straightforward to integrate into automation script execution flows.

Inconvénients

Git Hub does not provide adequate tools for managers to monitor usage or enforce access control.

Alternatives envisagées 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi choisir GitHub 

BitBucket quotation was costlier than GitHub.

Logiciel antérieur 

Bitbucket
Tiffany T.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Santé, bien-être et fitness
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Our Company Loves GitHub!

Publié le 23/06/2022

Great experience with GitHub.

Avantages

Our entire company uses GitHub to some capacity and it has been great. In terms of product management, it keeps everyone in sync and organized even across teams. We love the ability to be able to customize the software to our liking. It's extremely easy to use.

Inconvénients

Because our company uses it for both product management and development, certain boards can get overwhelming. Overall, I don't have many negative things to say about this software.

Md abu K.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Gestion de l'enseignement
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 201-500 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

The best platform to grow & share your tech skills

Publié le 10/05/2022

It has been offering the student a free premium option for their whole studentship period. Therefore, our students can gain knowledge & also share their software & codings among the other coders out there. Additionally, the Github student pack offers a lot of external popular software that helps our students both in academics as well as in building their careers.

Avantages

This platform has been a blessing for our students & also for my career.

Inconvénients

This tool is perfect at its position but pretty expensive to acquire a Github pro badge.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitLab et Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

Github is more student-friendly than other options.
Raj S.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 5 001-10 000 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

GitHub Software Developer review

Publié le 22/06/2022

Recommended software to maintain version control

Avantages

Ability to collaborate and work on the source code and maintain the track of branches and bugs

Inconvénients

The analytics features provided can be improved

Alternatives envisagées 

GitLab

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

The wide community of GitHub and its ease of integration of it into the Microsoft platform
Meraz H.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 10 000+ employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les mois pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Must have for all Development Endevours

Publié le 27/05/2022

It is a safe, scalable, and trustworthy technology that can successfully handle the version control of any program, making it appropriate for a wide variety of code. GitHub is equipped with a comprehensive set of features and safety precautions. We have aggressively elucidated a lot on the manner that standard getting resources are not really helpful when trying to find a solid engineer. Top designers don't hunt effectively for new opportunities and don't use regular work sheets or LinkedIn. It is recommended that you search in certain locations for high-end technological expertise. How exactly does one go about locating a designer in this day and age? On the stages where the IT people group gathers to collaborate, exchange coding techniques, and learn from one another, you will find programming engineers.

Avantages

Setting up and getting started with Github is quite simple. When you begin a new repository, you will be guided through the process of effortlessly adding your source code from your computer to your repository using a few simple instructions. It also has a large number of other capabilities, such as task management, problem management, interaction with DevOps for deployment, static hosting of websites, and a great deal of more functionality. Additionally, it has a high level of extendability and enables you to integrate a large number of market-sourced components. You have the option of keeping your source code private or making it available to the public.

Inconvénients

Some time for me Because GitHub was developed without a simple user interface, verifying even the smallest and easiest things, such as a date, requires you to hover over another date in order to give you the exact hour and time of a commit per se. Because of things like these, using GitHub may be challenging for those who are just starting out with the program, but it becomes easier the more you work with it.

Alternatives envisagées 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

Bitbucket is too expensive.
Ava H.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Services sans fil
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 10 000+ employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for developers and to be able to carry out a wide variety of projects as a team.

Publié le 30/05/2022

It has been a great step for the development of my personal and commercial projects, because I can work hand in hand with my colleagues, being able to carry out projects from scratch either in private or public repositories, assigning tasks, being able to follow them, exchange ideas and even solve problems in the code in a short period of time. In addition, when working together with other colleagues, it is much easier to complete projects on time and deliver successful projects.

Avantages

There are several aspects that I like about GitHub as a software developer, having this high potential tool at hand makes it much easier to carry out projects of great value, since in one place it is possible to carry out the entire process necessary for a clean code.I like that it allows to be able to manage in a more reasonable way the time of development of versions and the time that is needed for the review of the code, because by being able to allow access to whoever you want to be able to solve any problem in the code, it makes it easier for them to solved in the shortest possible time. Not only does it guarantee a clean code but it also allows synchronizing the development of the code, that is, different tasks can be assigned to several members so that the progress of the project is rapid. A valuable feature of this tool is that it makes it possible to get the original code and even make changes without having to worry that the other team members will not have the updated version, this saves time and avoids overwriting the code which can be a great benefit error. In addition, assigning tasks allows the project to be much more fluid and that the workflow does not fall on a single person and the best thing is that it is simple to track progress. For example, assigning tasks gives me and my team to have better coordination and be able to advance in each task quickly.

Inconvénients

GitHub is an ideal tool for developers and programmers and even students since it allows you to work in private or public repositories, being able to interact with other developers, however, before being able to use each of its functions smoothly, you need time to fully understand it said software, this is because its learning curve can be somewhat high and more so if you are a beginner.

Fábio S.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Informatique et sécurité réseau
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 501-1 000 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

Publié le 25/04/2022

Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website.
Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Avantages

GitHub is the most well known git implementation.
For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code.
It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Inconvénients

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep.
The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

Elian B.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 11-50 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Github Review

Publié le 29/03/2022

My experience with Github has been awesome and it continues to be like so. Is very handy and I use it on my daily routine.

Avantages

I mostly like the ease of use and in the same time the big hand that Github gives me and my colleagues every day to
accomplish our daily tasks and be coordinated with each other.

Inconvénients

To be honest I think that Github is the best code hosting platform and is very hard to find any disadvantage. I use it every day and I am happy.

Alternatives envisagées 

Jira et ClickUp

Pourquoi choisir GitHub 

Bitbucket was inly focused in versioning and code hosting and did not provide all those functionalities that Github offers.

Logiciel antérieur 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

Ease of use and the possibility to do a lot of things like project management, task planning, versioning, collaboration, review etc.
Emil H.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Marketing et publicité
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

An assortment of undertakings for associating with GitHub

Publié le 23/03/2022

We have proactively expounded a lot on the way that to track down a solid engineer, normal obtaining assets are not exceptionally supportive: top designers don't look effectively for new positions and don't utilize ordinary work sheets or LinkedIn. You should utilize specific destinations to track down top tech ability. So how might one track down a designer nowadays?

Programming engineers can be found on the stages where the IT people group shares coding tips, works together and gains from one another.

Avantages

Administrator takes your code and changes it into a powerful, dispersed pipeline. You can keep on utilizing your current devices, dialects, foundation, and contents.

Official forms a rich DAG structure, however such that regards positive designing and doesn't repress it. You can utilize Prefect's useful API to change scripts with insignificant snares; or you can get to the conceded computational diagram straightforwardly; or any blend thereof. It depends on you.

Inconvénients

GitHub is dead-easy to use in the fundamental list of capabilities. The arrangement is negligible and all forming observes guidelines and so forth We had no issues setting up access for different clients and when private archives opened up even in the complementary plan it was an easy decision.

Githubs Actions region large assistance - when set up appropriately and can assist with computerizing errands like sending more than a few servers. It is an exceptionally useful asset, however perhaps more convoluted to arrangement then in other comparative products.

Dandre D.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Cabinet d'avocats
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 501-1 000 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Essential to every developer

Publié le 10/03/2022

Overall great experience, for bot myself and my team.

Avantages

Github is secure, promotes collaboration and is free for the most part. The core features of git is free and for further more "niche" features you can get enterprise. Github is great to go and check how you dependencies work in projects that you use and to see anything from issues to versions related to the source code

Inconvénients

One (I want to say annoying) thing is that all the repositories is stored in one place. I would love to just be able to separate personal projects with fun projects and shared projects with the use of a folder structure.
Also difficult to get a hold of GitHub documentation, i found myself learning trough Youtube videos instead of practicing from a document page (I am sure there is but i could not find it)

Alternatives envisagées 

Azure DevOps Services

Pourquoi choisir GitHub 

Licenses are expensive and limits the number of members in our team.

Logiciel antérieur 

Azure DevOps Services

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

Free to use. Secure and popular.
Jakub H.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Design
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Github Action solves automation issues

Publié le 04/03/2022

Generally it is ok. The usage is simple. Connection 3rd party apps to GitHub works well but not out of the box. Sometimes there was an encoding issue when using 3rd party apps to push changes - but they were probably client issues rather then GitHubs.

Avantages

GitHub is dead-simple to use in the basic feature set. The setup is minimal and all versioning follows standards etc. We had no issues setting up access for other users and once private repositories became available even in the free tier it was a no-brainer.
Githubs Actions area big help - when set up properly and can help automate tasks such as deployment over several servers. It is a very powerful tool, but maybe more complicated to setup then in other similar produts.

Inconvénients

The product management additions seemed as a good idea first, but rendered unusable (for us) since it people (devs) tend to use one app for versioning in command line and other apps for tracking and reporting. Comically joining them was not well received.
The GitHub desktop app can cause authentification issues for non experienced users.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitLab et Bitbucket

Pourquoi choisir GitHub 

GitHub seems to be used by a broader userbase. We wanted to fit in easier. Plus the private repos became available in free tier. Until then BitBucket was the better choice. GitHub actions help a lot in CI/CD.

Logiciel antérieur 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

Userbase and pricing (can be free) for organizations.
Charles boampong K.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : E-learning
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 11-50 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

The best project management tool for software developers.

Publié le 26/02/2022

We're currently building an advanced Learner Management System and the workflow and collaboration via GitHub is so rewarding.

Avantages

Our team of web developers live in different geographical locations but GitHub offers us the best environment to meet, collaborate and manage projects. It offers modern tools that help developers to work remotely and yet be more effective and productive than if they were to work in one physical location. It is the number 1 platform that I'd recommend for every web/software developer.
The ability to track all the changes you make during the lifecycle of any project and it's flexibility to allow other team members to make their contributions to the project is so cool.

Inconvénients

Not any that's affecting our projects yet.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitLab

Pourquoi choisir GitHub 

Someone recommended GitHub to us because of the few hitches that we were experiencing that time.

Logiciel antérieur 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

It appeared to have more positive reviews.
Masoud D.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Vente au détail
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Secure, innovative and feature rich, a competitor to all other providers

Publié le 22/02/2022

I cannot imagine working without GitHub, to be honest. I appreciate that there are many other alternatives these days but GitHub to me is the industry standard that makes developer jobs a lot easier and manageable.

Avantages

When you think about source code management you'd think of GitHub straight away. The security is taken seriously on GitHub and the CLI has made using it super simple and convenient from the comfort of your terminal. The offering of integrations with different DevOps tools is a must-have these days that you'd get out of the box with GitHub. Another important factor that makes GitHub stand out is its reliability which in the entire time that I've used it has always been available and has never been down.
GitHub has not stopped innovating new features and improving their services after all these years and it's amazing to see that they offer a new feature frequently.

Inconvénients

I'd love to see a feature-rich mobile app from GitHub to allow managing the repositories easier and more practical on small screen devices.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitLab et Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

I believe GitHub is more reputable between developers and more reliable compared to other competitors.
Amitava S.
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Goto Source control for software developers

Publié le 16/02/2022

Avantages

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Inconvénients

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitLab et Bitbucket

Pourquoi choisir GitHub 

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Logiciel antérieur 

GitLab et Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.
Utilisateur vérifié
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Édition
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 51-200 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

GitHub - the industry standard but could use some interface help

Publié le 02/02/2022

Overall it's made our work so much easier I can't even explain. Back when we used Subversion for code management, version control was a total disaster. Now we use Git and GH for managing our entirely cloud-based infrastructure, and it's a dream. Git works smoothly with GH, and GH makes our code available wherever we need it: AWS, Slack, wherever. GH is kind of like putting your code on wireless headphones -- now you can walk around wherever you need it, and it's there with you.

Avantages

GitHub is the industry default for code management with Git. If you use Git, you probably already know and use GitHub to keep your various repos safe and in the cloud. It integrates with absolutely every DevOps tool and system under the sun. And probably also the text editor you are working in. And probably also the communication tool you are using -- Jira, Slack, whatever. All of them talk to GitHub. Its help pages are the best in the business too. And it seemingly never goes down. We depend on it the way we depend upon electricity being in the wall socket.

Inconvénients

Unfortunately, the UI on GitHub is far from ideal. I use GH every single day, yet I still often find myself struggling to figure out where to find what I KNOW is in there. The Go to File button -- not sure why that is always hard to find. How to pull up a list of all the commits for a particular branch? Why is it that tiny little 'commits' button? It's like there are 3 or 4 different subnavs on the site -- each of which has its own logic, but it's not intuitive which one you should be looking at to figure out what you're supposed to be clicking on. It feels like somebody with real UI chops could figure out how to help GitHub take all the awesome features they have unleashed and put them into a more sensible layout. I hate feeling stupid, yet I often do when looking to find something in GH.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitLab et Bitbucket

Pourquoi choisir GitHub 

Once we moved to Git, it was obvious that GitHub was the place to be. Back in those days it was the only real option.

Logiciel antérieur 

Apache Subversion

Pourquoi passer à GitHub

It felt (and still feels) like these other products are aimed at niche markets that have very particular needs. What we want is something that is powerful, simple, just works, and can integrate wherever we want it. GitHub has solved that for us since day one.
Utilisateur vérifié
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité : Enseignement supérieur
  • Taille de l'entreprise : 10 000+ employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

If home is where your code is, Github is my home

Publié le 28/01/2022

I have used GitHub personally and professionally for over a decade. I use it primarily for work, but I have also used it to contribute to open source projects in my free time. I have found many amazing projects that I use regularly in my work and in my programming related hobbies.

Avantages

Git hub gives you options to manage your code. I like that I can use the command line to interact with git, but I can also use the GitHub desktop application, or the plugin for my IDE of choice: Atom, or the plugin for my colleagues' IDE of choice: VS Code, or any number of other apps.
The pull request merge workflow is also wonderful in that it allows code inspection and comparison.
Minor edits can even be made on the GitHub website and will become part of the regular git history.
GitHub actions allow us to do things like run unit tests and check a test build before approving code for merging to the main branch.
My absolute favorite part about GitHub is that it allows me to collaborate and contribute to projects that are not directly under my organization's control, but part of the open source community.

Inconvénients

Honestly, there is not much I dislike about GitHub. My biggest complaints about it are more related to the choices my organization has made around using GitHub. I would like to use GitHub for issue tracking and project management, but we have contracts with other paid tools that offer roughly the same functionality.

If I had one request for a better user experience it would be to improve the quality and capability to search for code within a specific repository. The feature exists, but it feels primitive and very basic. I want to be able to search through version history and have better search matches (instead of fuzzy matches). Better search tools would make GitHub even more useful.