Avis sur AppFolio

AppFolio

Logiciel de gestion des biens basé sur le cloud

4.5/5 (981 avis)
Traduire avec Google Translate

Chatel Real Estate

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 08/02/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Overall I'm very pleased and excited every time something new rules out. I'm the operations manager for one of Chatel's locations and I'm constantly playing with the new features to see if they will be useful for my company. This software is super easy to use, it cuts down on labor-intensive data management and archiving information. Plus the fact that it allows a property manager to be mobile. There is nothing sweeter than being at a board meeting or a condo meeting and saying hey I can pull that information up on my phone. :)

Avantages

I love that things are so well integrated. I have been with Chatel Real Estate for 7 years and we have been using Appfolio for the last 6 years. I appreciate all of the new features that you roll out and I'm super excited every time I see that little bubble at the top of my screen meaning something new has been added. Also, it's super nice that it's easy to use on the phone, I don't like the App. I only use it through my cell phones web browser but it works perfectly and I can get a ton of stuff done while visiting a building. I love that its a one stop shop for property management needs. I like being able to communicate with an entire building and record that information on unit owner pages. The key system is fantastic! We just started using it recently, and it has saved us so much time in addition to providing us with accurate records.

Inconvénients

Prepayments on unit owner ledgers do not automatically apply to the next owners charge automatically. This makes the aged receivable detail look off which is annoying and clients complain about it. It's not a huge deal and its something we easily fix. I also wish the homeowner directory report had columns to add their tenant's information into it, instead of having to pull a renter directory and then an owner directory. Clients want just one spreadsheet not two! I wish you accepted AMEX for payments, I get a fair amount of compliants about it.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Good product, improvements slow to take

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 14/12/2018
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

While the community conversations for improvements to the software is great, it's tough to know that any software engineer is listening. It seems like it would be very easy for move-outs to automatically prorate rent (where is it legal to collect full rent for a mid-month move-out?!?!?!) IF I could just talk to an engineer. It seems like it would be very easy to ask for an actual button for prorated rent rather than something that is a link everywhere on the internet. These simple things should not get lost in the community.

Avantages

This is a great product for property managers and tenants. The leases are easy to issue and easy to sign. The tenants have a great portal. Customer service is mostly great- sometimes I want a quicker response, but the reps are great. It is easy to find information and easy to adjust information.

Inconvénients

It is too easy to adjust information in some places and there are confusing breaks in logic for inputs from one section to the next. For example, the recurring charges section of the move-in process is identical to the monthly charges section of the tenant page, except that there is no option to have an end date. Move-in charges from the move-in process do not show up on the itemized rent roll. When asked about why this is, the customer service agent said that people don't want security deposits on the itemized rent roll. The answer to this is, like any other charge in the system, to hide the security deposit charges columns on the itemized rent roll. There is no need to restrict the information on a report when a report is customizable. We offer one-time concessions and, in order to get them on the rent roll, we have to use the recurring charges section. This, of course, allows for human error in having one-time concessions go on for the entire term of the lease.

Réponse de Torri

Dear Jeff, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate the feedback and we have made sure that it has reached our product development team. You do have the ability to prorate the last month's rent for residents and we'll follow up with instructions for this task. We read through every piece of feedback posted to our product boards and we take the feedback seriously. Thanks for being our partner.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Top 5 Things Tenants Don't Want You to Know About Using Appfolio and Why It Costs You.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 25/09/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

I wouldn't manage property without it.

Avantages

1. When Money is collected electronically you never have to think about who's paid and who hasn't.
- Even with a handful of units, it's time consuming to collect checks and deposit them on a regular basis. This causes sloppy book keeping and helps tenants get away with not paying timely.
2. When a computer keeps track of payments late fees are always charged.
- late fees get charged automatically. This trains tenants to pay automatically. No more not paying late fees. " It's already charged and it's part of your lease ".
3. When communicating with tenants electronically, there's a record of the conversation.
- " I didn't say it was my fault ". This is no longer an argument. Every text, email, and even notes from phone conversations are stored in the tenant profile.
4.Utility billing can become a profit center instead of a nightmare.
- When incorporating RUBS or just paying for the water bill, when done with the correct process, unpaid utilities can legally incur late fees which makes tenants pay them instead of sticking the owner with them at the end of the lease.
5. It's much easier to protect a property through liability insurance.
- By using the automatic liability insurance module, there is much less of a chance in lapsing renters insurance and the property has a better chance of recuperating losses due to " I fell asleep while the stove was on ". Yes, this has actually happened.

Inconvénients

Appfolio is not something you plug into your current systems. To do it correctly and efficiently you'll need to rework your processes around it. This can be good or bad. Depending on if you like creating systems. When you're done, you'll have an employee that never sleeps and takes care of a ton of your management tasks.

Réponse de AppFolio

Hi Dean, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. It's great to hear that AppFolio is integral to running your property management business. We appreciate your partnership!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Overall Fantastic Software that is always adding features!

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 08/02/2018
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

The updates and the "what's new" feature are great, this software keeps evolving along with our business.
Ability to mass-email or mass-text a property is great, and all the recording-keeping is great for peace of mind.
Can't possibly imagine doing business without the organization of AppFolio.
Universal Search is great, fast, and efficient.
The mobile app is great.

Inconvénients

The customer support can take a while, as in, there is no direct call option. Submitting a support request and waiting is fine most of the time, but having an "emergency" option would be great.

Lack of specific rules for rent controlled areas. For example, Oakland and Berkeley have different rules for rent control and we have to constantly edit the auto-populate letter. It would be fantastic to have the option to have the option to have a different auto-populate letter for each property. Each City requires different things to be referenced.

Charges are often auto-generated in the middle of the night when you manually onboard new tenants. For good record keeping, it's helpful to record when a rent charge started so we know accurate historical data and another way to know when tenants are eligible for a rent increases. But when we do this the system creates a charge for the current month in the middle of the night, which has to be manually reversed. The flow from application to move-in is very impressive, but AppFolio isn't as smooth when you take over management of a property that already has tenants, which is almost always the case.

We've received some negative feedback from the call center, including a time where a tenant called to complain about the door being on the wrong side on a new fridge. The tenant said a female employee laughed at him. Personally I think this is hilarious, and there is a part of me that is glad she laughed at him, but it just made matters worse. Also the occasional complaint about not being able to get through to someone.

There are requested features that seem reasonable and have a lot of support in the online community, but they don't happen, or at least not right away. I suppose you don't want to spoil us, but things like "weekly recurring work orders" and being able to toggle "payments required in full" for individual tenants seem like things that happen. Ultimately these are good things b/c I assume they will happen, but almost having the feature is painful.

Electronic Payment requires a cell phone. This is kind of strange and would love to be able to just submit payment without the phone.

Réponse de Torri

Dear Tyler,

Thank you for providing your honest feedback. If you are ever experiencing an urgent issue, you can add this to the subject of your support request and we will try our best to facilitate your urgent needs. We are constantly seeking to improve our product and support offerings and I have forwarded your product feedback to all of the appropriate teams for review. They will also reach out to you if they need more information. We appreciate your interaction with our user community as we continue to implement new features from our Product Suggestion Board! We look forward to our continued partnership!

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Accounting using AppFolio for 7 years

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 01/11/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

I am not a computer geek, but have had a little computer programming training in the past. As I read the different users complaining about things or how they think their issues should be addressed in the upgrades to the system sooner than other issues, I wish I could open their eyes to finding creative ways to make things work for them till the next improvement arrives. AppFolio is a very elaborate program and there are multiple ways to accomplish almost every task needed in the property management field. AppFolio's development staff has a very complicated job to make this program work perfectly for all their users coming from all different kinds of backgrounds and from what I have seen over the past 7 years, they are doing an amazing job (and it appears they have a lot of fun in the process).

Avantages

The support staff is amazing. Responses are within 12 to 24 hrs and solutions are found or suggestions for the future improvements. Over the past 7 years I have watched with admiration as this program has blossomed, filling the needs of multiple users in detailed ways. I use AppFolio in two different accounting venues, one with a large property management company servicing over 1600 home rentals, the other with one owner handling his 325 apartment units. This program provides excellent adaptable reports for both aspects of a property management company and for one owner with multiple apartment complexes in all phases of financial accounting, rental reports and maintenance. AppFolio encourages all discussions between all users and the staff of AppFolio resulting in ongoing improvements and additional options within the program. To be quite honest, since my specialty is the accounting department, there are many parts of AppFolio that I have not had the privilege of really working with, but those that I have come across look to be as detailed and helpful as the accounting processes. The Help & Training section within the program is also evolving and very detailed in explaining how things work.

Inconvénients

If I had to find something I didn't like it would be the constant change that requires me to think and be constantly attentive to the processes in the program. It seems that almost every week there is a subtle or large change that rocks me for a moment. It is frustrating at times to stop and relearn a process. But then to my amazement I am once again loving this program even more and all that it does to make my job easier. You can't use this program out of habit. It is always evolving for the better.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Took a bit to get the hang of it, but would NEVER go back!

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 19/07/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

1. It has what I want from a property software,and if they don't have it, they will if you ask!
2. The customer service is spot on, they really love their customers and it shows!
3. Notes for EVERYTHING with PICS! No more tenants claiming they don't know what you're talking about or not knowing what they are trying to tell you is wrong with their units!
4. It makes it easy to keep track of all the data we have, literally everything has a place to be put.
5. I really love how in depth the help pages are and the fact that there are forums for the users to talk to each other about what they deal with and how they have worked around issues. It can take some time to find the right thing sometimes, but you can always find a way to make things work. Appfolio is very adaptable and it feels like there is no one way to use it. It works with each person in their own way!

Inconvénients

1. The accounting took awhile to get used to and can be a little clunky and confusing at times (and I have an accounting degree).
2. Customer service can take up to 24 hours to get back to you, while that is still a good response time, when you have accounting questions, it can seem like forever.
3. Having the option for so much data can make it hard to remember WHERE your data for a particular item got placed. Was it the unit page? Owner page? Tenant notes? Vendor notes? Maintenance notes? Who knows! It would be great to see a system that links together notes a little better with catch words or a notes search option by date etc to make finding the large volumes of data we collect a little easier. But it is STILL a far better system than anything we have used before.

Réponse de Mackenzie

Dear Christine, thanks for sharing your review! We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and are happy to see that appfolio has been a significant improvement from your last solution. We look forward to always improving our software for your use!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Appfolio is AWESOME!

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 13/07/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

The customer conferences are so beneficial and give the opportunity for new customers to talk with your staff directly and other Appfolio users. I believe this was key when we first converted and were going through the growing pains ourselves. Now that we have used this product for several years- I like to attend the conference, not only to connect with your team in the genius bar and in the classes--but to help the newbies by sharing our experiences with them and tell them about our processes. I just think overall the conference helps everyone get reconnected and I find it very beneficial.

Avantages

The appfolio team listens to their end users and encourages input/feedback, so that they can make changes/upgrades on a continual basis. This, in my opinion, is one the biggest things that puts Appfolio WAY ahead of its competition.
The program is stupid-easy to use. (seriously, training on this system is a breeeze--it is truly "user friendly")
Texting and email ability allowed me to cancel another paid service I used to use--and these features are SUCH a time saver, plus our residents LOVE it! PLUS the system keeps the documentation- I don't have to spend time adding it in as a note! Win-win!
Online payments free up SO much of my time now. (Residents love the convenience as well) The majority of my property pay online!!

Inconvénients

I can't think of one thing! I just really like Appfolio and I believe that the company has their fingers on the pulse of what we need. THANK YOU!

Réponse de Mackenzie

Dear Lisa, thank you for your kind words! Our team loves seeing and working with you at our annual conference - we all truly enjoy meeting our customers face to face each year. We look forward to continually improving your experience with AppFolio and giving you the tools you need for your business. We hope to see you again at this year's conference!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Outstanding software, but customer service could be better

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
Publié le 07/06/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Overall, I am extremely pleased with the software platform and I have not regretted switching to AppFolio from our previous property management software platform. Making the switch to AppFolio was a very beneficial business decision, from a number of perspectives.

Avantages

AppFolio is very intuitive and the learning curve for basic functionality and navigation within the software is relatively short. The "help" section is generally very informative. From a property management, unit-based accounting perspective, the software is very robust and offers tremendous bang for the buck. Using the software platform streamlines work flow and provides increased efficiency within the office.
The Tenant and Owner Portals are hugely beneficial for all parties. Paying rent (Tenants) or sending funds for maintenance & repairs (Owners) is simple and quick.
The ability to submit online maintenance requests through the Tenant portal is also a positive feature of the software. Work orders can be generated directly from the maintenance request and they can be easily tracked to completion.
The text & email capabilities within the software are also positive features. Having the ability to review email/text history without having to search through an external email program is terrific.

Inconvénients

The Tenant Move Out & Security Deposit Disbursement process is one of few features that I don't care for. Processing security deposit claims where a portion of the SD is forfeited to the owner, a portion of the SD is forfeited to the management company and a portion of the SD is refunded to the Tenant is not a smooth or intuitive process. Security deposit funds cannot be retained within the escrow account until funds can be legally disbursed - they are automatically transferred from the SD escrow/trust account to the management/property account. This places an additional burden on accounting staff to ensure that funds are not inadvertently released/disbursed before statutory time frames allow.
It would be helpful if the state specific SD disbursement protocol could be customized by the end user.

Réponse de Mackenzie

Dear David, thanks for sharing your feedback with us! We are happy that AppFolio has been a beneficial change for your business! We have made significant changes to the move-out process and next up we'll enhance the move-out accounting flow. When our product team begins researching the needs for the move-out/security deposit accounting flows we will have a Product Manager reach out to you directly to learn about your use of this feature!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

AppFolio Review

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 30/05/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

AppFolio is a wonderful software overall. We just need the ability to create custom workflows, procedures, activities, inspections.

Avantages

Online rent pay, online Leasing, integrated accounting, integrated website, the ability to broadcast to multiple third party websites during Leasing, automatic applicant and tenant notifications when scheduling a showing.

Inconvénients

Need customizable project management checklists. We systematize everything. We create workflows and procedures for everything so we do things the same way every time. A perfect example for this would be during move in / move out. There are 20 steps that must be completed every time a tenant moves in and moves out. We have these steps written down in Excel. But Excel checklist is not a shared list so we have no idea when things are completed. We work in different locations. We would have better communication if there was a live custom checklist that we could create and use under a couple different workflows in af. It would be ideal to have "add custom workflow" as a drop down during certain processes. For example during the "initiate move out" process. On page 1 of the move out process, we could then choose which checklist to use. Better yet in the checklist it would ask if you want that to be included every time one of the following processes occur. That's perfect. Then the users have no choice but to complete each task in the workflow. That checklist would be integrated with the pertinent users desktop as open activities. you can have 5 different users are assigned to specific tasks in the checklist and the ability to set deadlines per task. And when there are multiple users, each user only has authority to check off the tasks they were assigned to. Then it would date and time stamp each completed tasks in the checklist ss completed. Of course we would need the ability to assign tasks between users in the event a user is out or an available at this time. Examples of some recurring tasks that we do during every move out are: post home for online install for rent sign, clean carpets, Janitorial, etc. AF should add custom user titles per property or per Property Group. This way you can click to assign who's the maintenance supervisor, maintenance tech, property manager, on-site manager, janitor. That information would then be accessible in letters and in this case when assigning tasks. For example clean carpets always goes to that user title, etc. As the move in move out deadline approaches, everyone involved in the checklist workflow can view exactly what stage the progress is at. And alerts could go out if someone misses their deadline. One other nice feature would be that if we make a task required then the subsequent task cannot be checked off until the preceding task has been checked off. So move in move out is one example where this would come in handy. Eviction would be another time. And this would be extremely helpful for remodeling... perfect example is never install flooring before the interior is painted.

Inspections need help as well. We don't use inspections in af because of this. Once an inspection is completed any user can delete it. It needs to be non-modifiable once completed. Also, we should have multiple types of inspections. In particular, one for move in move out that would have two columns one for move-in condition and one column for move out condition. Then we can compare condition when the tenant moves out against the info they completed when they moved in. Further, this should be integrated into the tenant portal so the tenant can complete the inspection themselves as they walk through the home. A copy can go to the property manager who can then agree or disagree with each of the findings. Then a copy of the inspection would be made available in a PDF format for the tenant in there tenant portal just like a copy of the lease is available. Lastly, currently we can only add photos to an inspection when an item needs repair. That's not the case. Just because damage exists does not mean that we will make repairs but we do need to document the condition in most cases. An example would be scratches on a stainless steel refrigerator door. We may note that they exist just so that we know the new tenant is not responsible for the damage but the scratches aren't bad enough to Warrant purchasing a new refrigerator.

It would be nice to have a box to check to automatically send digital birthday cards to all tenants, vendors, etc. And if people want to go old school, you could make this a profit Center for AF. Where you have a subsidiary or partner printing company that will send holiday cards and birthday cards at the appropriate times if we enable that feature period then all the data is pulled directly from the tenant profiles so they get their birthday cards on time.

Réponse de Mackenzie

Dear Matt, thanks for sharing so much detailed feedback with us! We love hearing from our customers and will definitely share your thoughts with our teams. We hope that as you spend more time with AppFolio you will be able to realize the full value of our program for your business and find new success!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Appfolio is a great basic software program for small to medium sized Property Management companies.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 10/02/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

We have been a client of Appfolio since their onset and helped them with Beta testing when they rolled out their product over 8 years ago. It was a great alternative to Yardi Enterprise which we were using at the time. There are many features which help make our processes functional and smooth and it is a nice looking program.

Avantages

The integration of the program with our website helps cut down on many steps and the marketing and accounting features are well laid out and easy to use.

Inconvénients

The maintenance section is very basic and does not have nearly enough flexibility for our growing maintenance division. We did not really outgrow this segment of the program until 2 or 3 years ago. Now we have signed up with another software company to manage the maintenance side of our business. This is also not a great program for companies who have a combination of services, it's mainly geared toward fee managed residential property managers. Besides residential property management, we handle construction and remodeling, commercial property management, real estate sales, and self-storage management. Most of these other services are handled through software programs besides Appfolio.

Réponse de Mackenzie Nielsen

Dear Nori, thank you for your review and for providing us with detailed feedback! We appreciate your partnership with us since the beginning, we hope to continually support and keep loyal customers like you happy! We are currently working on many updates for the maintenance features, one of our Product Specialists will be reaching out to you directly to discuss how these new updates will support you, as well as gather more information on what other features you are in need of for a seamless maintenance experience. We look forward to continuing our partnership with you for many years to come!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

AppFolio

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 1 à 5 mois
Publié le 07/10/2016
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

The product overall is a very nice product for a residential management application. User friendly, decent functionality, clean look. Sales and implementation teams are very responsive; the continuation teams are not quite as responsive or accessible. They have a user forum where suggestions, questions and answers can be submitted and reviewed. They are continually improving the product and consider user suggestions in their enhancement process.

That said, we manage commercial properties, not residential. We knew there would be some adjustments in processes and procedures we would need to make but the platform is NOT overall conducive to commercial management as we were led to believe. We were so excited to finally streamline some of our processes while adding tenant and owner portals, so when this failed, we were incredibly disappointed. While they are on the right track and may have a solid commercial management product down the road, they are definitely not there yet if the user is managing multiple properties, especially if the properties have independent banking accounts.

It was difficult to properly rate the product as I believe it is a great product for the correct application and certainly competitively priced and affordable. However, our experience was less than favorable due to the inconsistencies and limitations for our needs.

Avantages

Very user friendly; clean look; multiple search functions; decent reporting; user portal functionality; great implementation team; decent support; continually adding new features and enhancements; affordable - great value for the investment

Inconvénients

Very limited for commercial property management applications; accounting platform does not adequately support multiple or independent accounts for individual properties; tenant and owner profile info pages are very limited for a commercial

Réponse de Mackenzie

Hi Tamra - Thank you for posting a review, we appreciate your willingness to share your feedback as we are always seeking to improve our offering! When your company decided to leave AppFolio in April, our Customer Success team learned in detail about the challenges you had with our system. Since then, we have improved the tenant portal experience for commercial tenants and are continually making improvements to our accounting and reporting workflows. We have many happy commercial property managers using our system and hope that you will consider us again in the future!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

6.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Appfolio: The Cutting Edge Experience

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 27/06/2018
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

I have been using the Appfolio software for 18 months now and I am still learning ways to customize reports so that I only see pertinent information. I discover ways of inputting information and narrowing my searches for information, such as finding information about appliances, which SKU we purchase for the apartments so I can give this information to the vendor which saves me and their employee valuable time and frees us up to serve more customers. I <3 Appfolio!

Avantages

Appfolio is a property manager's 'one-stop shop'. I am the office coordinator, partnering with the property owners and maintenance manager. If our employees can't find the information they need about a tenant, application, report or work order, then we need to train better because Appfolio provides the templates to input any information needed to screen applicants, communicate with tenants, manage work orders, locate a property by link to Google maps. Every page has a feedback/suggestion link at the bottom of the page. We receive regular notifications of updates by the Appfolio team. I don't work with accounting, but if a vendor calls about payments or account information I know how to access it and even narrow my searches.

Inconvénients

It would be most helpful if work orders could be categorized since we have maintenance employees who specialize in plumbing and HVAC. It would also be helpful if a work order that has been marked 'Urgent' pulled to the top of the list or color-coded red so that it was instantly recognized as urgent by our maintenance personnel.
There just aren't a lot of cons from the aspect I work from.

Réponse de Torri

Dear Margo, thank you for taking the time to leave this review! We love partnering with you and it's great to hear that AppFolio is your one-stop shop for property management!

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Best decision we've made

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 12/02/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

AppFolio has made our business more efficient which has enabled us to provide a higher level of customer service not only to our clients but our customers as well.

Avantages

There are several features to the software that make it a great product for our team to use.
#1. The ease of use and overall aesthetic functionality is hands down best I've seen.
#2. The ability to have all of our property management activities done out of one centralized location has increased our efficiency.
#3. We love the conversational component of AppFolio. Being able to communicate with our resident base out of the system and have that communication recorded is a value add unlike anything else. Documentation of conversations is hard, especially since we are people, AppFolio takes the excuse out of not recording conversations.
#4. The evolution of AppFolio is amazing. In attending my first conference I discovered that the ability for AppFolio to create such an evolving product is tied into not only the phenomenal leadership but also to the phenomenal talent and passion among the team. I love that they listen to what the customer wants and 9 times out of 10 makes it happen. Such a customer service focused environment.

Inconvénients

If I were to say there is a feature I like the least about AppFolio it is that we can't yet have the vendor communication recorded anywhere but the vendor page. I'd love to have all vendor communication link back to the work order for a more complete conversation log.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Easy Program to Learn!

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 15/02/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

I started in property management in 2015 with absolutely no experience with PM or PMOS!
My boss and I went over running owner reports and monthly statements, but that was about it. Everything else I had to learn on my own.
I'd say I was at 80% of mastering all the features and systems within about a week. Luckily, the "support" system has become much more efficient that my predecessor's notes said. Presently, the longest you ever have to wait for support is about 12 hours.
They always develop new features which makes things easier. I particularly like being able to "Text Unit" or "Text Property" features. Tenants can "text" back, but it comes in the form of an email. If you use your personal phone for business, this is tremendous!!!!
You can also see who made edits which is nice. My office only has 2 people, but I can imagine that if you were in a larger office you would want to be able to note who made what changes and why.
Move out accounting is super easy with Appfolio - saves me a lot of time generating move out reports.
And finally, I'd say that online applications really streamline the process. This is by far my fave feature of Appfolio.

Inconvénients

While I can allocate certain payments, I can't seem to allocate charges. I'd like to be able to do that. Also, transitioning tenants from one unit to the other is confusing. It's not hard to do, but I don't follow the logic. That might just my fault.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

AppFolio Property Manager is A+

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 02/10/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We used to use a separate system to receive rent payments and would have to manual enter them into Appfolio. By using Appfolio for all payments it has cut down on human error with the data entry and saved HOURS of data entry. We have also saved time and issues by having the tenants enter their maintenance request instead of them telling us and then us entering it. This way they explain exactly what the issue is and can't say I said this or that when we entered it. Just a better way of running a business. Oh and the owner statements pull everything from the system instead of us keeping a spreadsheet with the payments and charges - save time and possibly more human error.

Avantages

There are so many features that are great, but there are too many to list. It is great to have all the information in one location from the guest card to the leasing. Having all the online rental payments go right onto their ledger saves so much time. We love also being able to pay owners and vendors from the same system. There are so many features we have not even begun to use and it is just a great system.

Inconvénients

We do not like that we are not able to download the ledger with a total of charges and payments at the bottom of the ledger. They used to offer it and when tenants or cosigners had questions it was a huge help. Another issue we have is not being able to send the letters via email to the cosigners. Most of our tenants are students and the cosigners pay the rent and we need them to get the email letters. Few other things but the PROS outweigh the cons by far.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

I love AppFolio

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
Publié le 14/02/2018
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

The ease of all of the features. I love the program and what it does for our company. Customer support is also a huge plus! They're always fast with getting back and follow up with you to make sure your issue got resolved. They just go the distance to make sure you understand the issue you may have or answer any questions about new features you haven't used.

Inconvénients

Some features are confusing and don't make sense. Could be "dumbed" down a bit without having all the extra steps. There are also some features that I feel like we may be able to get use out of, but they aren't high lighted as much. Like the inspection aspect, I feel like we'd be able to use it but there's things in there that needed to be added. Also we would love to be able to write down keys/fobs that each tenant may have in their "units", but it only gives you the option of the key number. Just a couple things that need to be tweaked for us to use them efficiently.

Réponse de Torri

Dear Morgan, we're so glad you love AppFolio and the diligence of our Customer Success Team! We always welcome product feedback to help us build out new and current feature offerings. We'd love to hear from you! Please post your suggestions regarding mobile inspections or your ideas for simplifying other processes on our Product Suggestion Board (linked from your AppFolio database). In regards to Key Tracking, you can add the Key ID (for example, the code or name that is on the physical key or key ring), a description of what the key is for, and the total number of those keys available. You can also navigate to the key record of the key you need to check out and click the Check Out task. Type the name of the person who is checking out the key. This can be an owner, vendor, tenant, homeowner or staff member. Enter comments about the checkout, for example why it's being checked out and when it's expected to be returned. Hope this helps and thanks again for the feedback!

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Fomer Yardi User

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 01/06/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

I could not do the job I do today without AppFolio. There is no other property management software that integrates every aspect of the business. The customer service is the best I've encountered over the years. There is definitely a core value at the top management at AppFolio that filters down to everyone we interact with. Awesome company, awesome product.

Avantages

Follows the flow process of property management. AppFolio easily allows me to complete the tasks for three employees. There are redundancies that prevent common and costly mistakes. Having an advertising module built in is fabulous. We only use AppFolio for advertising, The maintenance module continues to grow in functionality and the electronic Lease process reduces time and work required from our Leasing Agent.

Inconvénients

IF I had to say something, I would say that changes for the sake of changes can be counterproductive. Just when I feel comfortable with a new feature or process, it changes. I think this is due to shift in mobility demands from the new generation moving into the work force and AppFolio has to meet these demands or become just another past property management software.

Réponse de Kris

Dear Kris, thanks for your awesome feedback, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us! We understand the need for balance between new features without it becoming a distraction, our teams are always trying to make the transition of new releases as smooth as possible while still bringing you the latest and greatest technology!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Appfolio - The UP & COMING in Property Management Cloud Based Services

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 02/11/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

#1 in response and communication hands down - since day one their response time has been better than any others I have heard of - Bar NONE -
Overall we enjoy it. A couple problems with call center person not understanding we are not in California so have different rules, BUT, overall - Love them!

Avantages

Appfolio is relatively new to the industry compared to Yardi and others however, the strides they have made in such a short time are remarkable! I researched 8 software providers when I started my company and went with Appfolio in 2014 because I saw their vision. While it has been a bit clunky at times when rolling new features out, the fact that they have made such huge strides in the 4 years I have been in the industry is amazing. I think I might see it more than others because I come from a background in software engineering so it gives me a better insight to how much actually goes into the process. I am looking forward to more in the next 4 years!

Inconvénients

The accounting is a bit clunky and can be a problem for other states that have different laws than California. It takes 15 steps when it should take 3.
The maintenance really needs inspections for tenants to fill out online.
Owner management agreements need to be online.
More flexibility to creating documents for all parties.
Better tracking methods for move in move out procedures.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Fantastic Property Management Partner

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 20/02/2018
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

What we love about AppFolio is simply not just the software but having a trusted and dedicated partner in managing our properties. This cloud based solution is easily accessible from any PC or Mac, tablet or phone. With constant enhancements and updates the database stays well ahead of the curve in answering demands we have yet to make. The engineers and coding experts at Appfolio often provide us with tools and the means to handle any scenario when setting up a unique billing model for a unit based on surcharges that we might wish to use in capturing an alternative revenue stream that we must track. We are very fortunate to have found Appfolio and rely upon our partnership with them to provide our residents with online payment options and allowing them to access payment history and to create tickets via an online maintenance request. Excellent reports and the ability to modify them on the fly allows us to access information in an easy and convenient way, providing us with a crucial link in working seamlessly with our Accountants.

Réponse de Torri

Hi Tony, we're so glad you love AppFolio! Listening to our customers in order to provide enhancements that make your lives easier is one of our main goals. We are thankful for your partnership with us and we look forward to many years together!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

AppFolio is an all-around good property management software

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 21/09/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Appfolio is great for single family and multi-family property management. I have used it in the leasing role and the manager role. In both cases, I found it to be intuitive and easy to use for individuals with a variety of skill levels.

The maintenance portal was probably one of the best I've seen. I can start with a resident's service request, send it to my vendor, make notes along the way, add photos & attachments, receive and attach the invoice to the work order so that all of the relevant pieces are in 1 place, accounting pays it and the check then becomes associated with the invoice that's associated with the work order. When an owner has a question about an expense on their statement I can get from their statement, I am no more than a couple clicks away from an answer with loads of documentation along the way.

Inconvénients

This software would not be ideal for a company that participates in the LIHTC/Section 42 program. It seems to be sufficient for use with residents that participate in programs like Section 8, though. Some data sets also require that you pull two or more reports to see all of the data you need. The reports are highly customizable, once you learn how to use them, but some of the data is just not available from one report to the next.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Lots of issues

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 09/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Appfolio was an amazing company when we starting using them in 2014. Gradually, their customer service/support fell off to nearly nothing. We used to have an assigned support person and then suddenly there was a revolving door of support folks that would respond. There isn't any consistency. There are boards where folks can request certain updates but it appears that the decisions of which upgrades are made have nothing to do with the popularity of that proposal. We have become very disappointed in Appfolio and quite honestly have been looking at our other options.

Avantages

We love some of the aspects of the software. The ability to contact both owners and residents directly through the software by text or email is wonderful. The ability to have online portals for both owners and residents is also a plus.

Inconvénients

Customer support. Slow. Not always given the correct method to correct a problem then we have to find it on our own and explain it to a support tech to get it corrected. No ability to create our own reports. No ability to select how online portal payments are applied. All online payments go into the cash operating account instead of the security account (if that is what they are paying).

Réponse de Torri

Hi Regina,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry that your experience has not met your expectations and we will be having a manager reach out to remedy this. We look forward to continuing to work with you.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Lot's of features, lacking accounting clarity and open API

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 25/09/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Overall, we switched to AppFolio for some of the features they had to offer that our previous software didn't. But due to the accounting, the deplorable customer service, and the closed API, we are searching out other options to replace them.

Avantages

lots of features, automation, easy to track tenants payments and delinquencies and work orders.

Inconvénients

The cons are: Accounting, Lack of open API, and customer service. If I have a client in my office asking me a question and I can't figure it out on Appfolio there is no number for me to call Appfolio and ask. I can submit a support request, but Appfolio tells me they'll get back to me in 48 hours. Is that what I have to tell my client? yes. Horrible customer service. Their accounting is not easy, and they know it. We have had many support requests due to accounting and 9 times out of 10 they tell me they have to work on it and get back to me, which is always the next day. That's right, I have to wait 48 hrs to hear back from them, then they take another day to figure it out. Miserable accounting features. Finally, the API is closed. They can't be everything to everyone. There are great companies out there that specialize in many things. Instead of embracing them and letting them talk to the Appfolio system, they wall them out and don't play nice with others.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

5.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Best Property Management program on the market

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 01/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Regardless of what one likes or doesn't like about Appfolio or even if you use many of the features, this program provides the best overall system to manage rental property.

Avantages

Appfolio has a lot of features and many time saving elements built in to the program to allow you to accomplish more work in less time. They are constantly adding new features and improvements which are often driven by customer requests. The program is relatively easy to navigate and the learning curve for new users is usually fairly quick.

Inconvénients

Some new features have created problems which Appfolio didn't plan for - although they have been good about fixing them (eventually). Certain requests for new features and improvements have been ignored even with a high level of support from the users. Many of their added features have been obviously driven by Appfolio's desire to find additional revenue streams from users. This isn't necessarily bad for the end user as many of these features are helpful by reducing time and efforts to accomplish their work, thus somewhat paying for themselves. However, other user requested improvements appear to be ignored which may be due to their lack of income generation for Appfolio or at least require extensive programming to be added to the product.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Best thing since cheese pizza

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 07/02/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

This software is the only reason why I still have hair! When I started in property management, it was Quickbooks and Google Sheets. It worked, but accounting was super labor intensive, applications were on paper, tenants had to submit payments in person or into the CORRECT bank account at our local bank. Maintenance was difficult to keep track of, among other things, like unique notes and situations for each tenant. I had to create a new lease for every tenant.

Appfolio changed everything. Payment is online, and now 77% of my tenants pay there. I've trained roughly 90% of my tenants to submit maintenance requests online or through the Appfoio app so they go straight to my maintenance team. Leases autopopulate from the information entered onto the online application. I can enter notes on each tenant profile so I can keep track of unique situations.

The best part is that it runs off my browser or the app. I can keep track of things while I travel (which I love to do!) There's a lot more to this program, but I can guarantee you'll never go back!

Avantages

Online for me and tenants
apps online, with option to collect app fee
leases auto-populate with info from apps and property database
tenants can pay online and set up autopay
tenants can submit maintenance requests that go straight to maintenance crew

Inconvénients

doesn't have usable to-do checklist
doesn't have mass tenant texting option
can't receive pictures on texting feature

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Easy to use platform powerful reporting

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 20/07/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Great company and great product!

Avantages

The ability to track all rents in real time and ease of use for both the property manager and tenant make this product amazing. The tenant portal makes paying rent super easy for the tenant and creates value for the property manager. The owners portal is a great place to display the owners financials and it can be accessed from any device. The websites that can be build out for each property or 1 to encompass the port folio is a really cool option. They constantly release new features that greatly improve the software, this is because they listen to your feedback.

Inconvénients

One of the cons for me would be I wish they had someone to answer the phone when you called for support. They make you submit an email with a support ticket then they will respond back to you. They are pretty good about getting back to you right away and they will call you if you request to speak to someone. the only problem is if I get the call and I'm not in front of the computer.

Réponse de Mackenzie

Dear Grant, thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We love to see that you feel your voice is heard - we highly value customer feedback, it is an integral part of the product we create. We look forward to working with you & your team for many years!

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10