Avis clients sur Pivotal Tracker

Pivotal Tracker

Outil de gestion de projet agile pour les développeurs

4.4/5 (95 avis)
Alexis D.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Nice-looking app to help keep agile teams organized

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 22/11/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Our team is able to stay on track with work in a sprint and spend less time chatting on Slack about story progress, and do all the communication within PivotalTracker. Overall, this has kept our team organized and accountable.

Avantages

It has a really easy-to-use, friendly design that makes it simple to track progress of stories, keep things organized in projects and move items around when priorities shift. Stories provide a level of detail that helps keep teams aware of progress. They recently introduced customizable story templates, which have been great for making sure our bug tickets have the level of detail we expect on our team. I would highly recommend Pivotal Tracker for agile teams looking to keep organized.

Inconvénients

I wish there was more customization in the app. Some of the stages of a story don't particularly fit within our team's workflow, and the agile approach of velocity and estimates don't currently apply to us, but seem to still determine where our stories fit in a sprint. It would also be nice if the app brought more of a product management approach into it's design - currently, our list just ends up looking like a large parking lot of features, and we end up doing a lot of dragging and dropping to put things in order. It would be great to show that these things are tied to particular product goals.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Megan K.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Smooth Agile Tool for Startups

Publié le 09/02/2016
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

I liked that the contents of the dashboard is customizable for every member of the team who all had different roles. For instance, as a web developer I constantly kept my eyes on "My Work", "Current", and "BackLog" as I liked to track my tasks as well as what others in the team had in progress. On the other hand, the Project Manager had "Charts" and "Epics" opened as he wanted to track the velocity of the team. Aside from the customizable element, the dashboard was easy to edit as changes to an existing story as well as creating new ones could be accomplished in one tab/window without moving onto a new page. Because everything could be tracked with a one page view, it provided a good summary of what everyone was up to as well as nice way to track individual tasks.

Inconvénients

For a larger team I feel that it would be difficult to keep the dashboard maintain the nice clean look. As a developer that used Pivotal Tracker in a startup accelerator, every project I worked on was for a different company and each team had about 4 to 7 people (which was a good size for collective Pivotal Tracker usage). In a larger company, there could be larger sized teams which could potentially make the dashboard more cluttered and thus require a careful categorization of their projects for later review. Although I personally did not have to face this scenario often I could see it being a bit of an issue if my team and company was that of larger scale.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Nic H.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Tracker is an easy to use, constantly evolving, task management tool.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 19/07/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Tracker is great value for the cost!

Having visibility into which task is next in the queue and easily adjusting task priority when demands change is really helpful. The description and comment sections are great to keep topics and discussions related to specific tasks all in one place. Being able to use markdown to format text is also really helpful and provides a lot of flexibility.

I've been using Tracker for over 2 years now, and it has been great to see the product evolve. There are always new and thoughtful updates to the software which are both helpful and don't require you to relearn features or re-acclimate yourself to the tool.

Outside of the tool itself, the Tracker community and blog are great resources for best practices as well as learning about how other organizations are leveraging this tool.

Inconvénients

For smaller teams and projects, the point estimate feature and much of the in-depth analytics hasn't been that helpful for us in terms of making actionable decisions. With that said, for the right project and for large teams with many collaborators, I can see how these tools could be useful.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Ashish A.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Very simple and easy to understand project management tool

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 15/01/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Pivotal tracker is very lightweight project management tool with easy to understand user interface and contains most of all types of feature of advanced project management tool. We are using pivotal tracker in one of our recruitment management software to track the progress of software. We have been using this software for more than 3 years now buy so far It is free of cost as we are using public project that is free of cost. It provides all basic feature of agile process like releases , epic, stories and issue tracking. Best thing is it can be managed on a single page.

Inconvénients

Pivotal tracker doesn't support estimation of tasks in hours as supported by JIRA .Pivotal Tracker doesn't provide more formal method of agile process like sub-task estimation, sub-task life cycle, test case creation, work log, sub-task assignment, complex reports, custom task lifecyele.
Pivotal tracker has a poor pricing structure and only be used in agile projects. Mobile app need improvement.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Lindsey S.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Easy to Use for Small and Large Scale Projects!

Publié le 03/02/2016
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

Pivotal Tracker is very easy to use, but you are able to get granular with projects if you need to. Basically, it works for small scale and large scale projects. The software is very organized which contributes to its ease of use.

If you manage or create multiple projects with the same structure, team members, or stories, you are easily able to create a template that can be uploaded each time you create a new project. This greatly reduces the time it takes to setup projects within the software if your company manages a high volume of similar projects.

The best aspect of the software is you are able to give point values to stories so you can track project velocity and estimate time until completion.

Inconvénients

If you work on multiple projects at once, it can be difficult to view all stories you own across all projects. You will have to manual setup a multi-project workspace in order to see all stories that you own. If a new project gets created, you must manually add it to the workspace. This is the products biggest downfall in my opinion.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Brian H.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Bugs be gone

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 20/06/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

It was great for us for 5+ years. We are moving away from it to move into Visual Studio Team Services since our Dev Team already uses it, we are trying to centralize everything. We will likely continue paying for Pivotal for another year at least jsut for a backup of our data, as we do not plan to migrate everything to VSTS.

Avantages

It is a great software for our QA/Support/Dev Teams to create a workflow and centralized database containing all of our bugs, enhancement requests, etc. Clients report bugs to us, I submit the bug info into PT, add relevant Dev members, it gets prioritzied by our QA/Dev Managers, comments and details are added, and it is followed through the steps until it is resolved and closed.

Inconvénients

There is not a whole lot we have to complain about. It did its purpose for us, and we rarely ran into bugs or issues with the software. The only "issues" that came up were our own fault of leaving old items in there, adding duplicates, and letting it get a little cluttered.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Great tool to manage projects and time

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 14/06/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

For the most part, internally, this has replaced email. We also use this to manage all company goals and initiatives, bug fixes, new features on the website, etc.

It also allows us all to see the pipeline of new initiatives and allow someone who might be the best person to work on a specific project take ownership of it

Avantages

Having multiple projects going in multiple different areas of the company ( sales, marketing, development, etc) is very easy to track and to properly manage all the different projects going on in the company

Inconvénients

While there are some organization with tagging user stories and creating epics, it would be nice if there was a way to order all stories in a filtered way. The issue we are running into is that we have many different projects, some of which are related to each other, but are randomly organized by the tag; rather than the date created or the priority.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

8.0/10
Christopher K.
Traduire avec Google Translate

The - Project Management tool for Software Development Teams

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 01/02/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Been using tracker for a few years now. Its continually improved, but also kept a baseline of core functionality thats remained fairly static. It achieves its purpose, and doesn't throw in a lot of bells and whistles. Project / feature / story pipeline management core to storing information about past bugs, assets, ideas, implementations. Its served as alternative documentation to many of our projects. When consistently used, can be a very effective management tool for software proejcts.

Avantages

Its made FOR & By software devs.

Inconvénients

Its a bit clunky with lots of tabs open. Some light UX simplification could help. Also more markdown options ( or a bit clearer docs ) on how to write more formatted descriptions for stories & comments.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Ivan C.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Pivotal Helps Keep your Team Organized

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 16/11/2016
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We have been using Pivotal Tracker for several years now and it has quite a few features that keep our development team organized. We don't use the layers that predict how long feature will take those elements tend to require some programming knowledge and since I manage the system it's hard for me to assign point values to those. But I expect that adds a few more layers of functionality. Just the basic of being able to create a development ticket, assign it to a developer, tag the designer in comments so he gets inquiries, and use the approval process is a game changer in terms of staying organized. Everyone can tap into Pivotal Tracker and know exactly what their game plan is for the day.

Avantages

assigning tickets to team mates, tagging them in notes so they get a notification, and the approval process.

Inconvénients

estimating tickets seems a little hard to predict as a non developer..

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Pivotal Tracker is our daily agile management tool at a tech startup.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 04/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Pivotal Tracker does a good job for agile product teams, allowing cadence and 2-week sprints to be easily organized. Stories can be sorted by labels, epics, or workplaces (these can include stories across multiple projects/labels/and assigned team members).

Inconvénients

Pivotal Track is difficult when using it for a product team with lots of different project boards (i.e. Design, IOS, Android, Backend). It's hard to keep track of what you are assigned to across different projects. When someone comments you on a story, you receive an email notification, but there is no other way to keep track of outstanding questions or needs without going back through all of your read emails.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

I use this as a Software Engineer on a scrum team daily, and enjoy the process it enforces.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 10/01/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

I like the interface of being able to drag and drop/re-order anything. Customization is very high, being able to tag/re-name/add new categories to suit whatever project you may be working on. I like the 'blocker' feature that you can add to stories, as well as the fact that the stories support markdown. There are a ton of integrations with GitHub and Slack that help us stay on top of our projects.

Inconvénients

The one thing that can feel disorganized is keeping track of who is working on what. I'm on a large team, and it's easy to feel like there is too much going on. However, there's a feature that you can use to filter and show only what work you're attached to.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Greg N.
Traduire avec Google Translate

We use Pivotal Tracker for s/w development task management, and some project tracking.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 07/06/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Solid task management and project management features, with good 3rd-party integrations.

Avantages

It's quite easy to use, and has good 3rd-party integrations (such as with Slack and with Github). It allows a good level of detail within each task item, and the app updates nicely on they fly when several people are editing the tasks at the same time.

Inconvénients

I don't think I've noticed many; perhaps it could allow more customization of task attributes, or Sprint/Project details -- but I don't think we've been limited by that at all.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Diego C.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Proper SCRUM tool

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 13/04/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

I've been using PT since many years without a problem.
It's so simple to use that there is basically no learning curve, while actually everyone on the team can do his job effectively and it's also so simple to track the progress of the project.

Avantages

Pivotal Tracker (PT) has this incredible simplicity that makes it unique in his usability.
It's kind of an example of how to do things and I always mention it when I need an example of effectiveness and simplicity.

Inconvénients

Actually nothing, except that sometimes simplicity comes with a cost.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

This is how we keep our team organized. With many projects and 2 continents - this makes it work.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 14/06/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

The ability to go back and review previous projects so that we have a precedent established for future ones with ease helps tremendously.

Avantages

The organization factor is huge with this! We are able to be organized as a whole company while allowing teams to work together and collaborate regardless of where they are located.

Inconvénients

The email alerts do not always come in a significant amount of time necessary to move the project along. Luckily, we have a slack channel where we all communicate and collaborate as well.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Excellent Software Development tracking tool

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 12/12/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

time saving
better planning
better tracking and audit
knowledge and asset building
better outcomes

Avantages

Epics, Stories, Bugs, Tasks, Features
Dependency
Google Drive integration
Ability to apply tasks in a story and add notes and links to each

Inconvénients

Forcing an agile model into a project that does not need it
We use a hybrid method and the fixation on Agile gets in the way of resource planning
Lack of ability to plan resources by story or task based on estimates for each person involved

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Efficient tool for Agile planning, although a bit rusty

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 27/11/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We use it to plan our iterations and see what can fit in and what can't.

Avantages

Once you get the hang of it it's pretty easy to use; tasks just go in according to stack and it all makes sense. It has a good drag and drop ability which I find very useful.

Inconvénients

I don't like the fact that I need to hack my way around it to fit my needs. Also the colors are quite depressing to be honest. Graphics are kinda old fashioned if I'm fully honest.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
George G.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Dive in! (or stay out, no half-measures)

Publié le 16/01/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Our company started using Pivotal Tracker to manage software development in an outsourced environment. It seems to be a really successful tool in that regard. It's collaboration features are strong, its assignment tracking is very strong, and its reports are pretty good. If you have an application to manage distributed tasks that are each of significant effort -- say a few hours to a few days each -- then Pivotal is a top contender and you should review it carefully.

The problem that I have with Pivotal is that its success in the coding side of the business led to its adoption across the board in all our business processes. Here's where the trouble started. It's a little too slow to use with tasks that should be measured in minutes rather than hours -- it adds too much relative overhead. Of course, there are ways to deal with this like using Zapier to integrate a list tool or Trell or the CRM with Pivotal... but then the real question is why go to all these lengths to apprise teams in other departments to a level of detail they are not interested in?

So, if you're developing code, debugging code, or create documents that that, say, 2 or more hours each, Pivotal Tracker is an excellent way to organize, and, well, 'track', progress, report on relative team velocity and, most importantly adapt workload to current work pave (it automatically moves stories from background to active based on the calculated velocity/workload of the team -- that's pretty cool.)

But if you just need a list, or if you existing tool, like a CRM, already has task management then don't complicate your life.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Abdul-mumeen O.
Traduire avec Google Translate

The best story-based project planning tool

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
Publié le 05/05/2018
Provenance de l'avis

Avantages

I really like the fact that it has a well-established processes which is built upon agile methodology in software development. This helps in giving a sense of direction to anyone who is new to agile processes. You don't have to worry about what are the stages and how to group your tasks. With PT your agile development is as seamless as it can ever get.

Inconvénients

What I will least like is the algorithm used in calculating team strength because if non developer such as project owners are involved in pivotal possible to overview the progress and see what task has been performed and what is left, a false team strength is added which doesn't give an accurate assessment of the team.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Fast driven

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 24/01/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Quick priorities management for dev team.

Avantages

People are use to Jira but once you discover Pivotal, you understand that Jira is kinda outdated.
Navigation is always in the same browser page, its very straight forward to set timelines and build / release, icebox is intuitive and make also lot of sense in a dev context. Honestly, after the first two weeks use of Pivotal, I won't see why we'd go back to Jira.

Inconvénients

Intuitivity is not on the high side but its also normal for a powerful app like that.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Kerry B.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Couldn't wait to switch to another platform

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 1 à 5 mois
Publié le 02/05/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Pivotal Tracker actually does most of what you need to track projects, or stories for sprints for a scrum team, which is what I used it for. You can write stories and add images and links to them, and assign things to people and change the status of each story as it goes through your process. However, (see Cons section)...

Inconvénients

Pivotal does not use lanes for workflow. You get one lane, and stories can move up and down it vertically until they are done, and then they finally get to jump out to another lane. But the vertical workflow instead of horizontal is extremely non-intuitive. In fact, I found the entire software platform to be highly non-intuitive in general. I'm pretty savvy with learning new products, and it still took two weeks and multiple trainings for me to feel like I had a grasp of what I was doing. Furthermore, they only have 4 fixed statuses, so if those don't match your process well then you are stuck putting tags on all your stories to keep track of where they are in your process. It's doable, but very annoying.

In addition, PivotalTracker looks like no one has done any development work on it since the year 2000. The interface is old and outdated, and challenging to wrap your head around. My company was using it when I started working here, and fortunately they switched to ClubHouse about 3 months after I started. What a glorious transition! It took me half a day to learn ClubHouse and it is so much cleaner and intuitive to work with. I believe shortly before we transitioned that Pivotal was actually starting to roll out some improvements to their platform, so maybe it's better now. But in my opinion they probably should have started thinking about that about 5 years earlier.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

0.0/10
David T.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Awesome Software Project Management Tool

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 14/03/2017
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

I used to be a Pivot.

Avantages

Tons of tracking and story organization tools to create "epics" (batches of stories), "labels" (grouped stories) and analyze projects.

Inconvénients

There are such a multitude of different options and tools that it can be overwhelming at first glance. You really need a "Pivot" to teach it to you to fully understand how to use it.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Joshua K.
Traduire avec Google Translate

From a developer standpoint, it's straightforward.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 11/02/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

This is preferable to merely listing what you are working on in a dev environment, though it's not as in-depth as jira.

Avantages

I enjoy very much the ability to clearly list what may be blocking my progress, as well as being able to clearly list out the stages of any project that I'm working on.

Inconvénients

I've found the marking of projects as started, finished, and accepted to be unclear. The menus are not as easily understood when getting past the basics of starting and ending a project.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Bob B.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Great for managing Development life cycles

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 09/03/2018
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

Works well for companies with an agile structures. Allows developers to be in contact with end-users form any where with the mobile app. Great for getting bugs and enhancements closed quicker.

Inconvénients

Unable to export data and analytics form the application to flat files or other means such as xml which could be used for importing into other application and integrating the status and analytics of the open bugs and enhancements.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

7.0/10
Ethan A.
Traduire avec Google Translate

Incredibly slow and laggy to the point of hurting team productivity

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 06/07/2018
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Project organization, prioritization and triaging.

Avantages

I think the user interface is really nicely done and it's intuitive to use and quick to learn. I also like that it's easy to drag and drop stories in priority order which is more efficient than Jira.

Inconvénients

The software is EXTREMELY slow and laggy. It sometimes takes 2 minutes just to load the web page from scratch (and this is true on all browsers and in incognito mode). Clicking to open a story can take several seconds, and clicking on a thumbnail to see an attached screenshot can take 10-15 seconds. It feels like pulling your hair out and really slows down productivity. Their mobile apps are also slow and very buggy - it oftentimes shows ??? as the owner unless you clear the cache. I've tried to report these issues to their customer service team but they blame it on "network issues on my end". That's funny since it happens on every device and from every network I've accessed Pivotal Tracker from.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

2.0/10
Jeremy K.
Traduire avec Google Translate

An asset for tracking dev pipeline and velocity

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 06/04/2019
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Very versatile and powerful solution to tracking our development work. Keeps things organized well and allows us to improve our output.

Inconvénients

Took a little bit of time to start maximizing its use but really great once you get there.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10