Avis sur Windward Solution

Windward Solution

Web-based reporting and document generation solution

4.8/5 (20 avis)
Traduire avec Google Translate

Combine hundreds of MS Word reports, tens of thousands of lines of code, a report in seconds!

Publié le 10/06/2015
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We're thrilled to have found this product! We recently finished a large PHP project and used Windward Reports (Autotag and Javelin Rest Services) as the reporting engine. Much of those reports employed some very large and complex scenarios. "Many" logical branches (If, Case, Loops). What the reporting package didn't have, we were able to create and add in the form of our own C# custom functions to fill the gap to handle everything from JSON Arrays to specialized functions to manage complex English linguistics. The ability to create a live report (WYSIWYG) right within Word, use styles and native MS Graphs lets Windward reports really shine through! You'll love it!

While we built our reports upon one data source (MySQL), the package itself easily handles dozens of data types to import and work with. The speed at which we are seeing these reports generate is also worth noting. Extremely fast considering the number of iterations for the number of calculations. Autotag (the report designer add-in) also allows for variables to easily get passed into the reports and lets you create PODS to share variables and data you've used between users and designers.

The real magic though is their fantastic support team backed by some A1 developers. What we didn't understand, Windward always explained to us and if something didn't work in the product, support made sure we had a work around or the product itself was able to perform at the required level.

If you're looking for a reporting solution that backs onto Microsoft Office, can be built in as a service to run independently or from a user workstation (Autotag), I highly recommend you check out Windward Reports before investing time in other products!

Of course, every rose has a few thorns and Autotag is without exception. We did find a few things!
1. Expect a learning curve. Debugging a report or figuring out why a report might not run can be challenging as your reports grow in complexity.
2. Graphs do not always appear as they should when output into PDF and other formats. However, Windward is addressing this now developing a new PDF engine to output with.
3. If you use a lot of complex formatting and styles, expect some challenges and minor nuances.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

A great piece of kit

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 22/08/2016
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

I have been using Windward for nearly 2 years now and it has been the root cause of us being able to achieve what we set out to do. Needing to eradicate a number of repetitive Excel based reports, Autotag allowed us to build robust templates and improve our reporting ability and have greater control over our data.

Avantages

I love the fact that it sits in Microsoft products so easily. I feel this helps reduce a lot of the burden of learning a new piece of software as you are halfway there through your knowledge of programmes such as Word and Excel.

Inconvénients

Like most reporting software there are a few nuances that need to be understood to be able to work around them, but ultimately there are only a few of these and they generally aren't of a critical nature.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

9.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Powerful and smart reporting system

Publié le 19/06/2015
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

I've worked with a number of different report tools. Nothing I've seen comes close to Windward. I'm only bummed I didn't find them 2 years ago.

I make complex report outputs that need to pack in a lot of data, and communicate complex results graphically. My biggest issues with other systems are overflow, brittleness, and overall template hell. With Windward, I'm no longer getting pages with large empty patches. Editing in Word, I get to leverage a ton of power that's built into Word. Not every permutation you can think of in Word works properly, but so much of it does, that you can pretty much do any graphic layout. Word makes styling tables and whatnot a breeze. And you can leverage things like font/paragraph styles, which is really great. It's super easy, intutive, and flexible.

Bottom line for me - in 5 days, I was able to generate a beautifully branded template with full-bleeds, nested tables and loops, and fairly complex conditionals. This new template was a substantial improvement on my previous report templates using other systems. And I did it in a fraction of the time.

That's the product, but the customer support also deserves some serious kudos. Whenever I've had any issue, they have been super on top of it. Their response has been immediate and they're actively developing to meet my stated needs. When the issue has been tough, they've offered work-arounds until their team gets the issue fixed.

I'd highly recommend Windward.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Winward Autotag - a great piece of kit.

Publié le 23/05/2016
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

The product is great. Much easier to grasp than other reporting tools as it embeds itself with Microsoft programs such as Excel and Word. The support network provided by the vendor is second to none. They have regular training videos and webinars to keep you updated and ensure your maximising the product as much as possible.

Inconvénients

The outputs can differ between formats. This can be a little frustrating but, it can be resolved easily with a little manipulation of the template.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Powerful reporting to improve your products or services in a snap

Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant 6 à 12 mois
Publié le 20/06/2016
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We replaced a self built reporting system in our SaaS product with the Windward solution, when we were struggling to find another solution which could do the same. The engine integrated with our data sources in a snap, and AutoTag allowed us to replicate the reports quickly. We now have a hybrid system, which sometimes has to use our older reporting engine (for very specialised reports) but uses the Windward engine as much as possible.

Avantages

Integration was quick and painless, and the ease of building new templates with Autotag has really taken the pain out of rolling out new reports for customers.

Inconvénients

Nothing really, the costs can look high, but talk to Windward to see what other options there are. And it really is worth the money.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Powerful product which is constantly evolving and growing.

Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
Publié le 04/11/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

Powerful tooling, with easy to use wizards to help you select and preview your data. Hides the complexity of data selection and document generation.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Great product, beautiful output, fabulous support

Publié le 10/02/2016
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Windward AutoTag is one of several tools that we use to produce data-driven proposal output for a wide range of customers. While other tools may be more powerful in their near-limitless extensibility through incredibly complex JavaScript, AutoTag is the only solution that produces meaningfully useable native Office output. While other tools build documents that from a technical standpoint can be opened in Word or Excel but are difficult bordering on impossible for users to modify because they're built as a series of nested tables (Word) or spreadsheets pretending to be page layouts, AutoTag lets us build templates that output documents that truly behave like native Office documents. If you add or remove text in Word, the content reflows like a real Word document (because it IS a real Word document). If you change values in Excel, totals and discounts (for example) recalculate automatically. It isn't the solution to every reporting need, but it's a valuable addition to our toolbox and stands alone when native Office output is required.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Perfect Tool for creating templates and documents

Publié le 25/05/2016
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

If someone can use Word, they can use AutoTag. It is very easy to build a templates and use them right away. The vendor has a fantastic support team. They answer simple questions for beginners and they strive to understand your particular business problems and needs for your more complex

Inconvénients

There aren't detailed error messages coming out of the RESTful engine. When a report isn't generated for any reason, the same generic error message is returned.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Windward is a great product to use

Logiciel utilisé Autre pendant 6 à 12 mois
Publié le 05/11/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Avantages

It is the best reporting tool I have ever seen. One of the best tools they have is the document generation tool that allow to generate you report out of any data source you have and in any format you want.
In addition to there autotag template design which is really awesome.

Inconvénients

They need better marketing experience to show more what they really have, They have many features and tools they need to show more about it.
In addition from time to time they need to make changes to there website so The user when accessing it he can tell that they are doing more new stuff.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Great for quickly developing tagged templates

Publié le 05/05/2016
Provenance de l'avis : SoftwareAdvice

Avantages

Windward AutoTag is easy to use, especially the tag wizard to quickly tag content in your documents from various data sources, XML, SQL, etc... The vendor is great and always on their toes when it comes to replying back with open tickets or updated releases.

Inconvénients

Vendor, no issues. Product, some inconsistencies in PDF vs Word output, just need to do some extra formatting on the templates to get them to look similar when outputted.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Enterprise Reporting

Logiciel utilisé Autre pendant plus de deux ans
Publié le 06/11/2017
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Quick to use but powerful and customizable. Easy to integrate with a nice API.

Avantages

Really great people behind the scenes who are willing to help and knowledgable about how to best utilize the software.

Note détaillée

Rapport qualité-prix
Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Probabilité de recommander le produit

10.0/10
Traduire avec Google Translate

Best Customer Service Ever

Publié le 20/10/2014
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We are not a large client to Windward, but they always make us feel that way. Every time we have a question or suggestion, we get an impressively timely response. Even things that other vendors might charge us for, if Windward feels it would improve the product, they roll it into the next release. Their service greatly exceeds that of vendors we pay seven figures a year.

From a product respective, it is exactly what they advertise. A Microsoft Office design environment for enterprise data. And the server engine makes Crystal Reports look like a dinosaur from a speed perspective.

The major downside I've seen has been in the server pricing which only has a "per core" option. This has caused us to have to engineer our datacenter / redundancy design differently than if we did not have this constraint.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Powerful form rendering engine

Publié le 23/10/2014
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

CodeObjects is a cloud based SaaS solution for insurance process management that goes beyond the core of policy, billing, and claims to include all the ancillary functions. One of the ancillary services that we provide is document generation and we use Windward for this. Before windward we were using an Adobe based document rendering engine. Switching to windward helped us with the following:
- Reduced the time it takes to create document templates by about 80%
- Reduced the time it takes to configure complex form generation rules by more than 80%
- On an average our customers were able to learn the windward tool by about 70% faster compared to the Adobe product.
Overall it provided a great advantage to us in this competitive Landscape.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Great reporting software once you figure out the niggles

Publié le 11/02/2016
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

Been using the Autotag software for nearly a year and a half now. Of which we use it extensively for fixed reporting. It isn't necessarily an easy to learn reporting system as it is pretty much bound by the restrictions in Microsoft Office. Furthermore there are a number of niggles which you need to learn to work-around to use it.

However once you have done you will be using a reliable, fast and powerful piece of software for all your fixed reporting needs. Not to mention the great support which Windward offers!

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Excellent Product for Technical Report Writers

Publié le 26/03/2015
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We've been using Windward Reports for well over 5 years now as the main reports tool within our Personality product. As the development piece (AutoTag) is a plug-in for Microsoft Office tools it makes formatting simpler if you know how to do so in Word/Excel already.

We've created some incredibly complicated reports with this tool and our technical people find it easy to use but we don't find it as an end user reporting tool.

Highly recommend it for companies looking for a new tool to create their company reports in.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Fast, fast report / PDF generation for production environments

Publié le 27/10/2014
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

I'll start with the only con, it isn't cheap - but then cost is relative - we compared with other similarly scalable products and then, well, it looked much more favourable!

If you need to generate multi-page PDF documents in fractions of a second based on simply tagged word documents and some data to fill in the blanks then these are the people to talk to. Windward Reports does much more - but even for this it is worth the cost.

Support is great, the team is very friendly too.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

PSiDEO's review of Windward Solutions

Publié le 29/10/2014
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

PSiDEO has been successfully collaborating with Windward Solutions for many years as well as using Windward's products in its own solution with satisfaction for the same period. Additionally to performing products, Windward has also supported PSiDEO's activities by being open and flexible with its business models and negotiation schemes to ensure both companies business operations and needs are met in a collaborative and efficient way.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Great solution for integrating word templates into business process

Publié le 09/07/2015
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

We use Windward to in a business process that generates correspondence by merging data in various forms with Word templates. We have hundreds of templates and generate thousands of documents. It is all automated. It works great when you need to do this as part of a greater business process. I would highly recommend this product.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Easy to use, learning curve minimal.

Publié le 22/05/2015
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

In the set up we had a few questions on some very detailed modifications and the customer service was amazing!!!! It was very easy and turn around time on customer request was the best we have experienced.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client

Traduire avec Google Translate

Big Data Analytics

Publié le 22/10/2014
Provenance de l'avis : Capterra

The AutoTag add-in our analytics team uses for reporting has significantly improved our analysis productivity and helped us to view metrics which aid management in making better data-driven decisions.

Note détaillée

Simplicité d'utilisation
Support client